We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most interesting hilton garden inn!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lakefront Brew Tour
Ranked #10 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most interesting hilton garden inn!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful old building and an excellent renovation. Very unique for this chain, but it has the same amenities as other locations I've been to (except free parking). Nice rooms with enormous windows, beautiful atrium area

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    67
    23
    12
    2
See reviews for
53
72
7
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel because of the pricing and the excellent descriptions of the architecture. The hotel has been beautifully restored and has expansive hallways and a stylish, clean modern look. Although the styling is a bit sparse, service and attention from staff was excellent; our room was large with a great bed! The large bar and sitting area in the lobby could use some warmth and comfy ness, but we still enjoyed it. Breakfast was solid with excellent omelets. Although the neighborhood appears to still be in transition, we definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We came here for a weekend away. It was close to everything in downtown Milwaukee. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go this weekend. There are several shops, bars and restaurants downtown, it was a great weekend. The brewery tours are also close. We had a corner suite, it was fairly quiet. There was only a microwave and mini fridge in the kitchenette, no sink or wet bar. Staff was helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: For the weekend, park next door in the Chase parking garage, only $12 for the whole weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is beautiful in an elegant, detailed manner with original elements noted throughout the building that I loved. I checked in as a late arrival and the clerk was kind enough to add the breakfast package to my stay which was great. My room was 419 and had a fabulous huge window that unfortunately had a view of the alley. The room had a wonderful tall ceiling and a cool, comfortable vibe so I was happy.

At breakfast, I encountered the highlight of this stay, and his name is Travis. A smile, a cup of coffee and Travis was ready to serve. He greeted me every morning and was an excellent example of the type of employee Hilton needs in every position for the frequent business traveler. He actually gets 6 stars.

I did note the noise from the alley when it was garbage pickup time as well as the bar next door with live music on Thursday night, but overall, I slept great here without any interruptions.
The only negative is that after ordering room service, the tray was never picked up from the hallway, even after the room had been cleaned after I returned the next evening. This is the only reason I didn't give this 5 stars.

Be prepared for the self parking which is located in an open public lot caddy corner from the hotel and is an additional $10 per day. Best tip: use the ground level entrance on the side of the building when you are handling your luggage to head to the parking lot. The front entrance requires steps.

Room Tip: All rooms are different and the staff actually let me see 2 rooms before deciding. 419 has a huge wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Room was very clean and had everything that we could want. Housekeeping staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the history of the building. Great location between downtown and Third Ward. We can't wait to come back during warmer weather.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We are locals who decided to have a romantic evening in the city and we were not disappointed. This hotel is incredibly beautiful. It was the original Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance building and much of the original beauty is still there. The lobby is gorgeous, with mosaic tile floors, vaulted ceiling with a domed skylight, lovely carved woodwork, and the original elevators, as well as details too numerous to mention here. It's as beautiful as the Pfister for half the money...great bargain!

We had a King suite, which included a large sitting room with a couch and comfy chair with ottoman. There was a large tv in this room, as well as in the separate bedroom. The bathroom was nice, and the bedding and towels were great. Remarkably, the hotel is very quiet, which is unusual in the city. This is a brand new hotel and it shows.

The staff is excellent. We found that our lamp wasn't working and mentioned it to the front desk staff on our way out to dinner. They said it would be taken care of immediately, and it was.

You can easily walk to the Third Ward, as well as lots of great dining downtown. It's also right across the street from the Grain Exchange building, so if you've got an event there, this is a natural.

We will definitely stay here again when we want a "stay-cation."

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Booked a Saturday night for a girls night out mostly due to location. Perfectly situated between the Third Ward & downtown. Hotel lobby is really cool as they kept a lot of the elements of this historic building. Double queen room was clean, and there was plenty of room for 4 of us. Staff was super friendly. Price was reasonable for a downtown hotel on a Saturday night. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exploring downtown Milwaukee is easy when you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown. Right in the heart of the city, everything is nearby this hotel, situated in the historic Landmark Building. One of the closest hotels to Summerfest Grounds & the Marcus Amphitheater, This hotel is also near the U.S. Cellular Arena and Frontier Airlines Convention Center. Milwaukee Art Museum, Lakeshore State Park at the Lake Michigan Lakefront are also within minutes from the hotel. Plan your next event at our hotel. Our beautiful decor creates the perfect setting for any special event, weddings and meetings. Complimentary internet is included with all stays and an onsite restaurant provides convenience when lodging with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.