We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly beautiful, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lakefront Brew Tour
Ranked #8 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Incredibly beautiful, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We are locals who decided to have a romantic evening in the city and we were not disappointed. This hotel is incredibly beautiful. It was the original Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance building and much of the original beauty is still there. The lobby is gorgeous, with mosaic tile floors, vaulted ceiling with a domed skylight, lovely carved woodwork, and the original elevators, as well as details too numerous to mention here. It's as beautiful as the Pfister for half the money...great bargain!

We had a King suite, which included a large sitting room with a couch and comfy chair with ottoman. There was a large tv in this room, as well as in the separate bedroom. The bathroom was nice, and the bedding and towels were great. Remarkably, the hotel is very quiet, which is unusual in the city. This is a brand new hotel and it shows.

The staff is excellent. We found that our lamp wasn't working and mentioned it to the front desk staff on our way out to dinner. They said it would be taken care of immediately, and it was.

You can easily walk to the Third Ward, as well as lots of great dining downtown. It's also right across the street from the Grain Exchange building, so if you've got an event there, this is a natural.

We will definitely stay here again when we want a "stay-cation."

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    84
    27
    11
    3
See reviews for
65
83
8
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Booked a Saturday night for a girls night out mostly due to location. Perfectly situated between the Third Ward & downtown. Hotel lobby is really cool as they kept a lot of the elements of this historic building. Double queen room was clean, and there was plenty of room for 4 of us. Staff was super friendly. Price was reasonable for a downtown hotel on a Saturday night. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Not at all what I expected....and far exceeding my idea for a HGI stay in Milwaukee. The hotel has keep the historical charm in the lobby, elevators and hallways, yet offers it's guest a most excellent stay. Parking is a bit off, down to the corner in an open/unsecured lot - 10 usd/day or valet (same lot) for 24 usd/day. Close to many greatt dining spots. Except for the terrible brew coffee in the rooms, this is an excellent choice. I hope to return again with my wife to explore the city even more.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was very happy with my weekend stay. The building's architecture and design are truly unique and splendid. The rooms have very high ceilings, but otherwise the amenities are pretty standard. The beds and bedding were quite comfortable. The staff were very helpful, and I was pleasantly surprised at the lack of noise from inside or outside the building. I researched parking in advance because of comments in other reviews that the hotel parking was challenging, and found a lot a block away with covered parking that takes credit cards. Just don't park in any of the reserved spaces.
http://milwaukee.centralparking.com/Milwaukee-525-North-Water-Street-Parking.html

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello,

We are so happy to hear you had such a great experience with us! Thank you for sharing. If you are ever back in town and are looking for a place to stay, you know where to find us.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if there is something else we can do to make your stay more comfortable.
Best,

Kay. (414 271 6611)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Wow! Where has this hotel been? I am a regular traveler and a Diamond member of Hilton. I love Milwaukee, but the hotel situation has been, well, meager in the Hilton family. This one, however will now be my home away from home. It is absolutely beautiful, 1880's restoration and QUIET!! The only downside is the parking is across the street and is outdoors, so no covering for snow. But, it's worth it. Luis and Travis in the breakfast area were top notch servers. Friendly, efficient and informed. Great job, guys! The food was fresh and made to order quickly. Everything about my stay was better than I expected. Not the usual HGI for sure. Except for the towels...not the best and that would be typical for HGI, Hampton Inn and Homewood Suites too. I imagine it's very popular since opening in November, 2012, so I better start booking it early! Thank you to everyone at HGI Downtown Milwaukee!!! Welcome, we've been waiting!!!

Room Tip: I've only tried one room so far, and it was away from the elevators and very quiet, but I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your glorious review! It is music to our ears to know that your stay was such a memorable experience! We will praise our team members for a job well done in our next staff meeting.
We look forward to have you stay with us in the future.

Best, Kay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I believe that this is the highest-quality-value hotel in downtown Milwaukee right now. What I mean to say is that you can't find a nicer hotel for the price! The hotel opened in November 2012. The building was constructed in the 1880's, and the restoration is terrific. Kudos to the owners for keeping so many of the original architectural gems! The rooms have very high ceilings with brick arched windows. So cool. The showers are enormous and luxurious. The bartender was a hoot! The bar area doesn't have great ambience because it's combined with the breakfast area, but you have to remember, this is a Hilton Garden Inn, so having a bar at all is pretty dang nice. The self-parking is extremely close and reasonable at $10/night. Really, it's just across the street, so it's no big deal. As long as the rates stay reasonable, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

As others have mentioned - A very nice historical building just converted to a hotel within the last few months and as such everything is very clean and up-to-date. I think it'd be difficult to find a nicer more up-to-date hotel at this point in the downtown Milwaukee area.

The location is pretty good - just east of the river and a couple blocks north of the restaurants and bars of the third ward and more options a bit north and east on Milwaukee. The lakefront is just about a half mile away and the Oak Leaf Trail provides miles and miles of good running. Also, the staff is great and the hotel is fairly quiet.

Only nits I have is the parking which is in an unprotected lot diagonally from the hotel. I wish they really had an affiliation with a garage as it's not fun to brush your car off after a snow storm. Also the food on the menu looks a bit un-appetizing and watch out for short pours on your wine - Beer is good but it'd be nice if they expanded beyond just two on draft and offered some variety of local brews - not sure if Miller Lite counts!

Overall - Very good with just some service items to work on which may be because of the newness of the hotel - Still my #1 pick for places to stay in downtown Milwaukee.

Room Tip: Some rooms have showers, some tubs - if you want one or the other you may want to check to see what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for providing your review of your recent stay with us.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our updated property location. We hope you were able to take advantage of the nearby trail! Your feedback regarding some of our amenities is greatly appreciated.

We apologize your dining experience didn’t match the rest of your stay. This is an area we are constantly updating and appreciate your comments about our beer and wine selection. We understand how an uncovered car can be an inconvenience during the winter months and will work to provide a solution for our guests.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the area.
Best,

Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exploring downtown Milwaukee is easy when you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown. Right in the heart of the city, everything is nearby this hotel, situated in the historic Landmark Building. One of the closest hotels to Summerfest Grounds & the Marcus Amphitheater, This hotel is also near the U.S. Cellular Arena and Frontier Airlines Convention Center. Milwaukee Art Museum, Lakeshore State Park at the Lake Michigan Lakefront are also within minutes from the hotel. Plan your next event at our hotel. Our beautiful decor creates the perfect setting for any special event, weddings and meetings. Complimentary internet is included with all stays and an onsite restaurant provides convenience when lodging with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.