We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Historic Yet Modern Stay in the downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lakefront Brew Tour
Ranked #8 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Historic Yet Modern Stay in the downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Not at all what I expected....and far exceeding my idea for a HGI stay in Milwaukee. The hotel has keep the historical charm in the lobby, elevators and hallways, yet offers it's guest a most excellent stay. Parking is a bit off, down to the corner in an open/unsecured lot - 10 usd/day or valet (same lot) for 24 usd/day. Close to many greatt dining spots. Except for the terrible brew coffee in the rooms, this is an excellent choice. I hope to return again with my wife to explore the city even more.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    84
    27
    11
    3
See reviews for
65
83
8
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was very happy with my weekend stay. The building's architecture and design are truly unique and splendid. The rooms have very high ceilings, but otherwise the amenities are pretty standard. The beds and bedding were quite comfortable. The staff were very helpful, and I was pleasantly surprised at the lack of noise from inside or outside the building. I researched parking in advance because of comments in other reviews that the hotel parking was challenging, and found a lot a block away with covered parking that takes credit cards. Just don't park in any of the reserved spaces.
http://milwaukee.centralparking.com/Milwaukee-525-North-Water-Street-Parking.html

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello,

We are so happy to hear you had such a great experience with us! Thank you for sharing. If you are ever back in town and are looking for a place to stay, you know where to find us.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if there is something else we can do to make your stay more comfortable.
Best,

Kay. (414 271 6611)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Wow! Where has this hotel been? I am a regular traveler and a Diamond member of Hilton. I love Milwaukee, but the hotel situation has been, well, meager in the Hilton family. This one, however will now be my home away from home. It is absolutely beautiful, 1880's restoration and QUIET!! The only downside is the parking is across the street and is outdoors, so no covering for snow. But, it's worth it. Luis and Travis in the breakfast area were top notch servers. Friendly, efficient and informed. Great job, guys! The food was fresh and made to order quickly. Everything about my stay was better than I expected. Not the usual HGI for sure. Except for the towels...not the best and that would be typical for HGI, Hampton Inn and Homewood Suites too. I imagine it's very popular since opening in November, 2012, so I better start booking it early! Thank you to everyone at HGI Downtown Milwaukee!!! Welcome, we've been waiting!!!

Room Tip: I've only tried one room so far, and it was away from the elevators and very quiet, but I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your glorious review! It is music to our ears to know that your stay was such a memorable experience! We will praise our team members for a job well done in our next staff meeting.
We look forward to have you stay with us in the future.

Best, Kay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I believe that this is the highest-quality-value hotel in downtown Milwaukee right now. What I mean to say is that you can't find a nicer hotel for the price! The hotel opened in November 2012. The building was constructed in the 1880's, and the restoration is terrific. Kudos to the owners for keeping so many of the original architectural gems! The rooms have very high ceilings with brick arched windows. So cool. The showers are enormous and luxurious. The bartender was a hoot! The bar area doesn't have great ambience because it's combined with the breakfast area, but you have to remember, this is a Hilton Garden Inn, so having a bar at all is pretty dang nice. The self-parking is extremely close and reasonable at $10/night. Really, it's just across the street, so it's no big deal. As long as the rates stay reasonable, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

As others have mentioned - A very nice historical building just converted to a hotel within the last few months and as such everything is very clean and up-to-date. I think it'd be difficult to find a nicer more up-to-date hotel at this point in the downtown Milwaukee area.

The location is pretty good - just east of the river and a couple blocks north of the restaurants and bars of the third ward and more options a bit north and east on Milwaukee. The lakefront is just about a half mile away and the Oak Leaf Trail provides miles and miles of good running. Also, the staff is great and the hotel is fairly quiet.

Only nits I have is the parking which is in an unprotected lot diagonally from the hotel. I wish they really had an affiliation with a garage as it's not fun to brush your car off after a snow storm. Also the food on the menu looks a bit un-appetizing and watch out for short pours on your wine - Beer is good but it'd be nice if they expanded beyond just two on draft and offered some variety of local brews - not sure if Miller Lite counts!

Overall - Very good with just some service items to work on which may be because of the newness of the hotel - Still my #1 pick for places to stay in downtown Milwaukee.

Room Tip: Some rooms have showers, some tubs - if you want one or the other you may want to check to see what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for providing your review of your recent stay with us.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our updated property location. We hope you were able to take advantage of the nearby trail! Your feedback regarding some of our amenities is greatly appreciated.

We apologize your dining experience didn’t match the rest of your stay. This is an area we are constantly updating and appreciate your comments about our beer and wine selection. We understand how an uncovered car can be an inconvenience during the winter months and will work to provide a solution for our guests.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the area.
Best,

Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mills, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hands down, this will represent the coolest lobby / atrium in any Hilton Garden Inn you'll ever see. This is the Loyalty building in downtown Milwaukee, and it's just minutes from top-notch restaurants and shopping in the bustling city center.

The rooms are completely renovated, and even though some are a bit quirky because it's not a ground-up build, the hotel has all the charm you would hope for in an interesting older building, with all the modern amenities you want in a hotel today. My room had two flat screen TVs, with the requisite refrigerator - microwave - coffee station in the living area.

The service was great, from valet parking (expensive, unfortunately), to check-in, to lunch and cocktails in the impressive lounge area. All in all, it was a very nice experience!

Room Tip: Ask if the room has an outside-facing window - some lower level rooms do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a trip this hotel was. A highly renovated old office building. Looked like something right out of the 20's with old railroad pics on the highly ornate stairway and a huge atrium. Really beautiful! But the best part was the service and accommodations. Maybe we just got lucky, but our room was less than 30 steps from the front desk, breakfast area and bar/lounge. You would think the room would have been loud, but it was tucked behind two soundproof doors. No noise problems at all. And talk about convenience. The bedroom had huge 20' ceilings. View was to an old alley, but who needs a view. Just leave the huge curtains closed. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our only gripe was the room got too hot the 1st night. Couldn't set the thermostat lower than 70. (It was middle of Feb and in the teens outside). A call to the front desk fixed the problem soon enough the next night was very comfortable. Open only since last Nov, everything in the place was clean and new.

The real trip for me personally was the location of the hotel. I worked in the same building as a Navy recruiter over 30 years ago. How's that for a trip down memory lane.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at the Hilton Garden Inn! Thank you for the kind words on the site, service and amenities. It is a great treat to hear that you had such a memorable stay, especially when it’s your old workplace. I will gladly share your comments with our entire team.

We hope to see you soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if there is anything else we can arrange for your future stay to make you feel more at home.

Kind regards,
Kay (414 271 6611)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exploring downtown Milwaukee is easy when you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown. Right in the heart of the city, everything is nearby this hotel, situated in the historic Landmark Building. One of the closest hotels to Summerfest Grounds & the Marcus Amphitheater, This hotel is also near the U.S. Cellular Arena and Frontier Airlines Convention Center. Milwaukee Art Museum, Lakeshore State Park at the Lake Michigan Lakefront are also within minutes from the hotel. Plan your next event at our hotel. Our beautiful decor creates the perfect setting for any special event, weddings and meetings. Complimentary internet is included with all stays and an onsite restaurant provides convenience when lodging with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.