We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Air Cantina

Bel Air Cantina
1935 N Water St, Milwaukee, WI 53202
(414) 226-2245
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 1,409 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Their veggie tacos are DELICIOUS! I loved the ambiance of the place and their menu was extensive! My husband loved the fish taco and my favorite was the soy chorizo taco! I most definitely plan on going back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best tacos in Milwaukee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I wish this place was around when I lived in Milwaukee! My husband and I went back for a visit and a friend recommended Bel Air Cantina to us. We stopped by there around 2pm on a Saturday and it was packed! (Shows me the food is probably good!) We sat at the bar and had great service and amazing tacos! The atmosphere was cool (has a Cali-surfer vibe) and they played great music. Fun place to go for lunch (and I'm sure for dinner) on a weekend with friends or spouse!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great tacos but things have changed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

I have been to Bel Air multiple times and am always pleased with the food. But most recently on a Saturday evening I was less then satisfied with the portions in the tacos. I had a lamb barboca taco, shrimp taco and a veggie taco. All the tacos were delicious, especially the lamb but unfortunately it seemed that there was more corn tortilla then filling. In the past the taco filling has been abundant but not in this case. Perhaps it was the chef filling them or the chaotic Saturday evening, not sure, but hopefully next time I will get my money's worth.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprise on the East Side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My son and his wife tried this place a couple weeks ago, and encouraged my husband and I to try it as well. WOW-what a great meal-I love the trio of salsas-nice and spicy with nice heat from the habanero peppers. We ordered 3 tacos-Carbanara, Michelada with spicy arbol salsa and the habanero pork -the habanero crema was such a great flavor on the pork tenderloin. We also tried the quesidilla-excellent as well. Service was friendly and quick-I don't remember the name of our server, but she was quite attentive and engaging. Music was a little loud, but seemed to fit the energy of the restaurant and other diners.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Go here often, always delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I love the variety of tacos. Taco Tuesday/Thursday is an excellent value, $2 tacos and $2 tap beers. We even ate here on New Years Eve! I haven't ever gotten anything other than tacos, but my favorite tacos are black bean and corn & ninja pig.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bel Air Cantina also viewed

 
Milwaukee, WI
 

Been to Bel Air Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Air Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.