We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Annunciation Greek Orthodox Church

Annunciation Greek Orthodox Church
9400 W Congress St, Milwaukee, WI 53225
414-461-9400
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #46 of 86 attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites
Attraction Details
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Greek Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Obviously the Church is beautiful and a landmark. It is also a beautiful Divine Liturgy (normally at 9:30am). We decided to stay for the 'coffee hour'. It is in the fellowship hall/gym - the curved wood ceiling is more interesting than any gymnasium I've seen. Good coffee though they ran our a bit early. We felt very welcome - Emanuel was especially fun to talk with.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had the pleasure of touring the building when it was open for a festival a few years ago, and could not believe how beautiful this building is. If you get the chance to see it, don't pass it up. A marvel of modern design.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
243 attraction reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“Gorgeous church with interesting past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Once in awhile this church will be open to the public, or you can always attend their services. It's more interesting when they hold the Greek festival and have a guide tell you about how it was built. Of course it's Frank Lloyd Wright so it was built way over budget and after he was dead, but nothing was skimped on. I loved that the roof is actually floating on top of the building. Lovely windows and light.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Frank Lloyd masterpiece.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I liked to study the icons. The guide was very interesting. He told about the church services and the meanings of the icons and other religious sympols throught the church.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Frank Lloyd Wright architectural marvel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I Live 5 blocks from here....all my life....and watched them build this marvel....met FLW in person.....this is one beautiful church....nice neighborhood.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annunciation Greek Orthodox Church also viewed

 

Been to Annunciation Greek Orthodox Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annunciation Greek Orthodox Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.