We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Annunciation Greek Orthodox Church

Annunciation Greek Orthodox Church
9400 W Congress St, Milwaukee, WI 53225
414-461-9400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 90 Attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites
Attraction Details
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had the pleasure of touring the building when it was open for a festival a few years ago, and could not believe how beautiful this building is. If you get the chance to see it, don't pass it up. A marvel of modern design.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
411 reviews 411 reviews
263 attraction reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
“Gorgeous church with interesting past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Once in awhile this church will be open to the public, or you can always attend their services. It's more interesting when they hold the Greek festival and have a guide tell you about how it was built. Of course it's Frank Lloyd Wright so it was built way over budget and after he was dead, but nothing was skimped on. I loved that the roof is actually floating on top of the building. Lovely windows and light.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Frank Lloyd masterpiece.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I liked to study the icons. The guide was very interesting. He told about the church services and the meanings of the icons and other religious sympols throught the church.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Frank Lloyd Wright architectural marvel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I Live 5 blocks from here....all my life....and watched them build this marvel....met FLW in person.....this is one beautiful church....nice neighborhood.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We're Frank Lloyd Wright fans so went out of our way to get the Sunday services at Annunciation Greek Orthodox Church as guests. The church is in an open space in an urban setting so it is easy to get a full view from the outside. It's a different FLW experience than his more prairie architecture--more like the ASU performance center. We wanted to see the inside but they don't offer tours--though they welcome people to services. Church members were very accepting of our attendance. They do tend to dress up for services tho so we may have fit in better with casual wear (skirt, jacket, long sleeve shirt). The inside of the church is lovely and well cared for--beautiful stained glass that fit in nicely along the upper walls.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annunciation Greek Orthodox Church also viewed

 

Been to Annunciation Greek Orthodox Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annunciation Greek Orthodox Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.