We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stop on a Friday Afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakefront Brewery

Lakefront Brewery
1872 N Commerce St, Milwaukee, WI 53212
414-372-8800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 243 things to do in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Locally owned brewery specializes in handmade beers including Riverwest Stein, Eastside Dark, Klisch Pilsner and Organic Extra Special Bitters.
seg82
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Stop on a Friday Afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stopped at Lakefront on a whim, and it did not disappoint. For $7 a person, you get 24oz of beer, a tour, and a souvenir pint glass. The tour is entertaining...you're not going to get the detailed brewing process, but you'll get some good laughs. It's definitely not a tour for kids. Of course, I don't know why you'd take kids to a brewery to begin with.

As a bonus, you get a coupon for a free pint at some local restaurants. We checked out Stubby's down the street -- it was fantastic!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    128
    28
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun and delicious experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

These people love beer. Our tour guide was very personable and funny. She told us about herself, the history of the brewery, and how much she loves her job. I was jealous.

Pay $7 for a tour and 4 samples and a complimentary pint glass? Yes please. 10/10 would go again. You also get a coupon for a free pint of Lakefront beer at one of the local restaurants which is also a nice perk.

We went on a Saturday mid-morning and waited about 10 minutes for the next available tour. It was a bit more crowded when we got back to the lobby around 11:30-noon.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous tour (and great beer...of course!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Best to book the tour of your desired time slot online just in case it is busy on the day you want to go. Your admission permits four 6 oz glasses of beer so you can do a taste test. However, the best part was our tour guide; he was a standup comedian. What a hoot! Glad we came.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Enjoy a brew and a tour here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

First time in MKE and was advised to avoid the Miller brewery tour and head to Lakefront Brewery. SO GLAD we did. The staff was wickedly fantastic, our tour guide (Walker?) was excellent, and learned some fun facts. Beer was great too!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Super fun and interesting!!! Loved that we got to sample before, during and after the tour. Singing te Laverne and Shirly theme song was a hoot!!! Our tour guide was hilarious!!! I will return!!! Loved it! Excellent beer to boot! !!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakefront Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Lakefront Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakefront Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.