We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best brewery navigational specialist ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakefront Brewery

Lakefront Brewery
1872 N Commerce St, Milwaukee, WI 53212
414-372-8800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 65 Activities in Milwaukee
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Locally owned brewery specializes in handmade beers including Riverwest Stein, Eastside Dark, Klisch Pilsner and Organic Extra Special Bitters.
Chicago
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Best brewery navigational specialist ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was the most entertaining tour we have ever been on! I highly recommend this tour. We could not stop laughing on this tour. The beer is great, too! You must go on this tour!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    116
    26
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Really great tour and very informative. Our guide was simply awesome. I highly recommend, the beer tasting part was a personal highlight!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This Was A Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Highly entertaining and informative tour of the brewery. For 7 bucks, you get four beers to try, and a free Lakefront beer glass. Good value. Also went for the fish fry. Good food, with polka band and dancing. Families were having a terrific time and we very much enjoyed ourselves. Happy employees. We recommend this place!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canal Fulton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had a great time in this relaxed, "low brow" atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was actually told of this place when I was on the Miller Brewery tour by another customer who recommended it. It was a close drive so we decided to check it out.

$14 bucks for two adults which included 4 drink samples (each) and a pint glass for each of us. Didn't get that on the Miller Tour!

I had to ask where the cashier was and you had to listen for your tour group. If you weren't paying attention, you could miss it.

I've been on many brewery tours (8) and this was the most relaxed and informal. Beer making in the lakefront brewery is Masculine and fun. It fits the roots of the company of a couple of guys screwing around making beer.

The part I most liked was the fact they paused the tour each step along the way to ensure everyone had an opportunity to have a beer in their hand.

The humor was crude, but it fit the environment. Clearly this tour was about having fun a cracking jokes more than it was about education in the art of brewing.

My girlfriend and I had a great time and would probably return for another tour.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comedy Central! (oh, and Beer too)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

OK, if you want the fancy, lots of brewery science tour, head over to your Bud brewery. If you want to have lots of fun, head over to Lakefront.

The guys at Bud would shudder with the thoughts of large groups of tourists, WITH beers in hand (yes, you are encouraged to drink beer while on this tour!) wandering around their equipment, but at Lakeside it is all part of the charm of a small craft brewer. Our tour guide has comedy routine that is better than 90% of all the "real" comedians I have ever seen. So not only are you learning something about Beer, you are well entertained with the guides quick wit. Even if you don't like beer, the tour is a better value than your local comedy club.

Maybe Not the best place for a family trip with kids, but for a date or get together with friends, it is a perfect afternoon. BOOK TICKETS ONLINE! Tours FILL UP!

And, PLEASE, bring a designated driver! (Tour admission $8, includes (4) 6oz "samples" of high alcohol beer plus a coupon for another beer at a long list of bars (must use before 6pm that day))

Bottom line...I will definitely go back again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakefront Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Lakefront Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakefront Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.