We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribly disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lakefront Brewery

Lakefront Brewery
1872 N Commerce St, Milwaukee, WI 53212
414-372-8800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 65 Activities in Milwaukee
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Locally owned brewery specializes in handmade beers including Riverwest Stein, Eastside Dark, Klisch Pilsner and Organic Extra Special Bitters.
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terribly disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a tour for people who would like to get drunk on their tour and have always wondered how beer making is like sex. Yes, for the $9, you get 24 ounces of beer and a souvenir glass. We also received an abundance of tasteless jokes, very little actual information about beer-making and did not get to see any of the process actually occur. Words like infantile, demeaning, crude, vulgar come to mind to describe this excruciating hour.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    116
    26
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best Fish-Fry and Brewery Tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fish-Fry:
Lakefront Brewery has a VAST warehouse-sized room attached to the brewery where they host a fish-fry on Friday evenings. Despite the size of the place (and the enormous crowds!) the food is excellent (classic Wisconsin fare) the service is fast and excellent (I don't know how they do it!) and the atmosphere is great. A LIVE POLKA BAND provide the entertainment, and pretty soon everyone is dancing or at least tapping their toes. Combined with pitchers of Lake Front's delicious beers, its a Milwaukee experience not to be missed! RECOMMEND you get to the fish fry early to beat the lines - you'll still see the polka!

Brewery Tour:
Not for the faint-of-heart or the easily-offended. This tour is basically a hilarious stand-up routine in a brewery - its extremely entertaining and by far the best brewery tour in Milwaukee (and there are a lot!) When you sign-up for the tour you are given a stack of tokens for free beer pours - HIGHLY RECOMMEND that you arrive as early as possible and use the tokens immediately - you can take beer on the tour, but can't use the tokens in the bar afterwards. You're likely to get drunk - but hey - that's why you're touring a brewery, right?

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Tour, better beer!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I can up to Milwaukee this past weekend and went on the Lakefront brewery tour. Both our kids and their spouses have been there so we already expected to have a good time, but the beer, can we say prost!! Great guide, funny, informative, and did I mention the tasty brews.
My favorite was the red ale.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Entertaining and they start with the beer:)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Usually tours like this end with a sample. In this tour, you get 4 coins to sample beer. You begin the tour with beer, get another sample with beer and can end with beer! This is a casual tour where you learn the basics of beer making. Lots of politically incorrect jokes made it entertaining. Adult event though, not appropriate for little kids, though they do have root beer if you bring them along. They will likely be bored and jokes will go over their head.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great tour....if you are Beavis or Butthead”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Took the tour today on the basis of the reviews we read here. We learned next to nothing about the making of Lakefront Beer. The tour guide could not have been more offensive. Every aspect of brewing beer was the opportunity for a joke about sex. Did you know that yeast fart and hops give head? Unless you miss eighth grade, save your money and go to a pub nearby and buy yourself a pint. What a waste.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakefront Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Lakefront Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakefront Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.