We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pabst Mansion

Pabst Mansion
2000 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53233-2043
414-931-0808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 239 things to do in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Featuring 37 rooms, 12 baths and 14 fireplaces, sea captain and beer baron Captain Frederick Pabst's castle-like home was built in Flemish Renaissance style on Milwaukee's Grand Avenue of Mansions.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I took my "Little" sister to the Pabst last summer. I was a "Big" sister and part of our weekly visits was to expose her to things she's never seen. I've traveled around the world and have seen a lot of palaces, castles, cathedrals, etc. I almost feel ashamed that I waited so long to see the Pabst mansion, considering I lived in Milwaukee all my life, but we kind of o that, don't we? Skip the local things in favor of the exotic.

Anyways, it is gorgeous! There is no other way to describe it. You get a real feel for how the Pabst family lived as you get you walk into the rooms; they're not cordoned off. The added bonus is that the Pabst is part of a three historical house pass--Charles Allis and Villa Terrace are the other two--for one price, so we went to see the beautiful gardens of Villa Terrace for a good price (I think it was $12.00 per person).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    108
    23
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, wi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“So interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My 11year old daughter and I just toured the mansion and it was entertaining for both of us, not just the beauty, but the stories about the history , we learned so much. Parking was easy and just walked in signed up for next tour which run every hour, and so inexpensive . They continue to restore more rooms, so would like to go back again in future, they say it is beautiful during Xmas

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My 12 year old daughter and I toured the mansion and we loved it! The docent had grown up in the neighborhood and had great stories to tell. She was so knowledgeable about the history of the house and family and was very informative about the restoration work being done. Check out the beautiful built in cabinets in the dining room - gorgeous! Will definitely go again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Neat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Our guide was very knowledgable about the facts. It was a snowy morning and we had the place to our selfs. Our one hour tour took an hour and forty five minutes. A very cool place to see. Loved the stairwell and the captains room on the first level.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful architechture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I wanted to see this place no matter what! But got even luckier. There was a beer and brat fundraiser for the mansion that weekend. Very cool. Hands down recommend for the period art and decour.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pabst Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Pabst Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pabst Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.