We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Restoration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pabst Mansion

Pabst Mansion
2000 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53233-2043
414-931-0808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 76 Attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Featuring 37 rooms, 12 baths and 14 fireplaces, sea captain and beer baron Captain Frederick Pabst's castle-like home was built in Flemish Renaissance style on Milwaukee's Grand Avenue of Mansions.
Elgin, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrific Restoration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This classic building is being brought back to it's original condition by wonderful craftsmen, and the tour guides were most informative and knew their history in great detail.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    92
    22
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I (25yr) didn't think the Pabst Mansion was going to be anything special...I can say I was definitely proven wrong! From the outside the Mansion doesn't look all that impressive, but don't let that stop you from taking a tour; the inside and amenities of the house are what is truly impressive! The tour guides are incredibly knowledgeable, friendly, and are willing to answer any questions you may have. For only a few bucks, this was a great tour and I will/would go back again!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our tour lasted over and hour and covered nearly everything on the first and second floors of this marvelous old house.
The only thing we didn't like was the no photo policy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed the tour!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Our docent was so knowledgeable!! The woodwork, the wallpaper, the attention to detail in the mansion is awesome! It is a work in progress but it is worth a visit if you have a couple of days in Mikwaukee!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great to see how the 1% used to live.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The house is incredible but is now surrounded by blacktop instead of what was certainly once a lovely estate. After seeing the front part of the 20,000 foot mansion that the family lived in, you get to peek into the back of the home that the servants worked and dined in. Although we didn't see the 3rd floor, basement or servants quarters you do get the idea of how separate the lives of the wealthy and their servants used to be. Our tour took about 1 hour, 15 minutes. It could have lasted much longer though as our guide seemed to be annoyed whenever anyone asked a question. Would have been an excellent tour otherwise - even our 12 and 14 year-olds enjoyed it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pabst Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Pabst Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pabst Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.