We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Milwaukee shows frequently beat Broadway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee Repertory Theater

Milwaukee Repertory Theater
108 E Wells St, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)
414-224-9490
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 76 Attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Performances, Theaters & Stadiums
Attraction details
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Milwaukee shows frequently beat Broadway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I've been blown away by Milwaukee productions ("The Happy Fellow" and "Avenue Q" come immediately to mind) whereas I've frequently been left underwhelmed by Broadway ones (Chorus Line, The Producers), which tend to become "calcified," formulaic, predictable and mechanical. The prices of the Milwaukee versions have been creeping (to half, or even 3/4, of Broadway prices), but I've felt I got my money's worth. Who needs "celebrity" performers for great, alive theater? I'm a convert re: Milwaukee dramatic productions--they make the most out of smaller but overcompensating resources and produce world-class theater.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    18
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the best regional theaters in the country.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

If you want to see great, current, professional theater, the Milw Rep Powerhouse is the place to see it. More intimate theater, Stiemke Theater. Late August through early May. And for lighter pieces and a nice dinner or drink go to the Rep - Stackner Cabaret.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“World Class theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent performance space; top quality productions. The Rep values its audiences and the community.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Ring of Fire performance at the Rep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Stackner Cabaret is venue of the Milwaukee Rep that I have never before experienced until seeing the Ring of Fire show highlighting the music of Johnny Cash. This intimate setting was perfect for enjoying the performance by Eddie Clendening, Jason Edwards, David Miles Keenan, and Mark W. Winchester. Unfortunately for us, Trenna Barnes, who usually sings with them was out with laryngitis. In spite of this, the group filled in the loss and we were well entertained. We loved the music and being able to be so close to the performance with the dinner-theatre type setting. Great voices and personable performance!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Our first time here, great facility, great performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

While visiting my Son and family for Easter, we took in a play at "The Rep", our first such visit, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We loved the overall atmosphere, and the play, "A Raisin in the Sun", was superbly acted and presented. We're already looking at next season's schedule and making plans to return. A nice and unexpected feature: One can order a beverage before the start of the play, and at intermission, there it is - no waiting in line! Also, for $2, one can buy a cup w/lid that allows you to take the beverage into the theatre (and is also a small souvenir).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee Repertory Theater also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee Repertory Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee Repertory Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.