We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Rep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee Repertory Theater

Milwaukee Repertory Theater
108 E Wells St, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Rep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We are subscribers for over 10 years. We love the Steimke Theatre and eating at nearby restaurants. Love the theatre, feel like you are part of the play. No bad seats. Actors are fantastic.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
217 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Big Time Theatre in a Smallish City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We've been season ticket holders at the Milwaukee Rep for a long time. As a matter of fact, if you're a season ticket subscriber, when you resubscribe the subsequent year, they move your seats forward. For the last 10 years my wife and I've been sitting in front row, center seats. Interesting place to be, you get up close and personal, but saliva and perspiration also come with the territory.
The Rep actually consists of 3 physically separate theaters, the large sized Powerhouse (a remodeled old electrical plant), where mainline popular plays are produced, the Stiemke theater, a small blackbox stage where new and occasionally experimental plays are put on, and the Stackner Cabaret where productions, often musical, are put on in a venue that allows one to drink or even order small plate type food.
The Rep has a long history of great productions in each theater and historically, an excellent resident acting company. Sound, lighting and especially set production are particularly strong. The current artistic director, who arrived 2011, has more of an interest in musicals than the previous directors, which I like. However, he also seems to be reducing the number of roles for actors in the resident company in his productions. Although the visiting actors have been marvelous, there seems to have been a resultant reduction in visibility of the resident company, diminishing the "repishness" of the Rep.
If you arrive 45' early for a Stiemke or Powerhouse production, you will be treated to a "Rep in Depth" session put on by an actor or intern prior to the show itself. This often provides interesting insights into what goes on at the Rep backstage or important background details about the upcoming play. On less numerous scheduled occasions there are post-play sessions called "Talk-Backs," where, after getting out of their costumes, the players come back out and answer questions for about a half hour about anything the audience would like to ask. These sessions are very worthwhile and the questions and answers are often fascinating.
If you're looking for something to do in downtown Milwaukee, an evening at the Rep is an very enjoyable way to spend some time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeper, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Milwaukee Repertory Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I LOVE going to shows when I'm in town. Not only at the Rep, but at the Papbst Theater, and the Cafe as well. The actors are SUPER, the costumes SUPERB, and the friendliness is GREAT. (of coarse it helps to have a daughter that does the costumes for the shows!!!) You never have to worry about the seating, because all the seats are good, and if they're not, then they don't use them. Never hesitate to see a show, it's definitely worth it , and a lot cheaper than the Broadway ones, but have the same professionalism!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
417 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Blues in the Night is super.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

This is a wonderful, small, intimate theater with drinks and desserts available. The atmosphere is warm and great for small groups . The show we saw, Blues in the Night was perfect for the theater and very well cast. I love theater and live music, so this filled both. I was very impressed with the sound system. Actors mikes were barely discernible and sound quality was excellent. Dessert and drink prices are up a little but very acceptable for this venue, and the service was great. Hope to attend many more shows there in the future.

Was this review helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have season tickets and travel from south of Chicago, but it is well worth the drive. Performances are always top notch. And the sets, lighting, costumes are some of the best around!!! The theatre itself is a wonderful venue! No heads in your way here. Highly recommend catching a show here!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee Repertory Theater also viewed


Been to Milwaukee Repertory Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing