We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you would imagine, but still worth the time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miller Brewing Company

Miller Brewing Company
4000 W State St, Milwaukee, WI 53208-3175
414-931-2337
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 64 Activities in Milwaukee
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world's third-largest brewery offers free tours and tastings to anyone with an interest in how beer is brewed, fermented, aged and packaged.
Crown Point, Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What you would imagine, but still worth the time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I wasn't sure about this tour, but since we were in Milwaukee and how can you not go and tour at least one brewery and I do drink Miller Lite, this was the one. It was a nice walk through history, one of the oldest breweries in the country, they still had a lot of the original place still in tack, but not using them as they used to (the caves where they used to stack ice so they could keep beer cold during the summer months), it was still cool to walk in the paths of an original and yet still see modern technology now at work to improve the process. It was worth the time and if back in the area, would probably go again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    124
    55
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent tour! Go see it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

An excellent tour of Miller Brewing Co. The visitor's center is first rate and there are things to buy in every price range.
A goofy photo starts things off :-) and a state of the art video. The tour is in depth and in the facilities in Miller Valley-not just a video and nothing else! I like seeing the real operations and you sure do! The cave is awesome and the tasting at the end made me realize that Miller & Coor Light and Lemon-Berry Shandy doesn't stink when fresh!!!!!!!! Definitely go to this tour when you are in Milwaukee. Children are welcome too, obviously they just don't get the beer! A great tribute to the 'American dream' too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saukville, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome light show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The holiday light show is very good! We did get to see the caves which was warmer than the temperature outside. You do get three samples at the end of the tour. The first sample is Miller Lite. The second and third samples are usually seasonal or other Miller/Coors products.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Its nice to see that this is still a great free tour as many companies have cut back. A must see if you are in the area and worth coming back to.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Modern Brewing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We wanted to take a brewery tour while in Milwaukee, and the Miller tour was available on our schedule and free. It is an hour long, with a long video to begin with. It was informative, then promotional. My mom caught a cat nap. The girl in the moon was interesting. We went on Sat, and the filling lines and shipping where not active. So, again a video. We were at the end of the tour, and got to ask some interesting questions of the guide. They were funny and knowledgeable.
Of course the best part was the cave, a great artifact of history, and the final tasting. Not just a small taste, but a large glass. Loved the glasses so much, we got a set at the gift shop sent to our home.
If I could offer some advise to Miller - Coors, perhaps a miniature setup that show the brewing process from beginning to end, including samples of the hops and grains used.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Miller Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miller Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.