We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Corporate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miller Brewing Company

Miller Brewing Company
4000 W State St, Milwaukee, WI 53208-3175
414-931-2337
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 65 Activities in Milwaukee
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world's third-largest brewery offers free tours and tastings to anyone with an interest in how beer is brewed, fermented, aged and packaged.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very Corporate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have been on craft/micro brewery tours before. A friend and I went to Wisconsin to see the Packers play-off game. We decided to take the Miller-Coors brewery tour.

This is obviously more a 'factory' and 'warehouse' tour than a brewery tour. The initial portion of the tour is a 15 minute long advertisement and propaganda spiel. When I watched the video, all I could think was, "This is so very, very corporate." It's too politically correct. I thought I was in a bad movie - you know the scene . . . where the victims watch propaganda immediately before the aliens steal their brains.

I enjoyed the history of the tour. I think that portion is cool. I enjoyed looking at the size and scope of the brewery, learning a little more about contract brewing, and viewing the vats.

After the tour there are free samples. I am not a Miller or Coors guy. I just enjoy beer, brewing, and the history of brewing. Unfortunately I was reminded why I am not a Miller or Coors guy.

The tour is free. If you have time, I suggest doing it just because the tour provides interesting tid-bits about the company and brewing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    125
    55
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Historical, Fun & FREE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Take the tour, learn a little (or a lot) and then partake in a tall cold one all for the price of...

Your Time to Stop!

Yep, the tour is FREE!

It's a good tour & one that our teens enjoyed (suprisingly)! You have to walk, so be prepared. The tour does give the option to sit out & wait at it's most difficult stair climb but this would mean missing out on seeing & hearing about the brewing process.

During the summer the tour ends in a beer garden so this is something to consider on cold days or during inclement weather. This tour is a "walking" tour - coming in & out of the facilities & it was quite cold & gusting winds as we visited in January.

We enjoyed this with our family & will be back during a not so frigidly cold day to hopefully enjoy the tour, history & some fun in the beer garden!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Miller Lites Brewery Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This past December we went on this mini tour for the holiday. It was really nice. You got a brief movie of the history of Miller. Then went to an underground cave with more history. Then onto the "Lites" part of the tour. Music and light show and then finally, the best part - 3 samples in the sample hall...free snacks too. It was a great holiday event to do. Smaller kids might get bored in the Cave and movie but the rest will be fun for them.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Patriotic, historic AND delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

You dont have to be a beer drinker to appreciate the history lesson and patriotic tone of this fine tour. The tour is fast paced and educational, plus.. for the beer drinker.. you will end with a taste for a historical ice cold miller beer. Three free samples were provided, and enjoyed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatley
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wanted to do this for years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A great history of not only this brewery, but a lovely look at Milwaukee's long involvement in brewing beer in the United States. A great outing for families, friends and couples - something for everyone. We paid a fortune for ridiculous Miller 12 pack hats in the gift shop and have gotten a lot of mileage out of them since. The historic buildings are meticulously cared for and you can really get the feel of how it must have been... The warehouse full of beer is pretty magnificent!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Miller Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miller Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.