We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irishfest 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henry Maier Festival Park

Henry Maier Festival Park
200 N. Harbor Dr., Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Historic Third Ward)
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 76 Attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated on the Lake Michigan shore, this park plays host to Milwaukee's sizzling summer circuit of ethnic and music festivals.
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Irishfest 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have enjoyed this festival many times over the past twenty years. We love the location by the lake, the great musicians and dancers, the shopping opportunities, and the food.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    44
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Mexican Fiesta 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The festival grounds are terrific. There is ample space for large crowds to gather without feeling too crowded. Bathrooms are well attended. There are numerous stages set up to listen to many different musical groups that are playing at the same time. There are also permanent playgrounds installed to entertain young children who may become tired of listening to music. There are also plenty of seating options from seating close to the stages to picnic tables that face the inlet right next to the festival grounds. You may see a few boats in the inlet during that time.
My only complaint is that there is not enough shade to cool the area during periods of full sun and heat. For this reason I recommend coming out closer to sunset to avoid that problem altogether. Otherwise please bring your hat or pack an umbrella.
Also be sure to bring plenty of money. Everything in the festival grounds is expensive. Bring cash because the ATM fees on the grounds are also expensive.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Irish Fest in Milwaukee,WI.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Every August, we head for Wisconsin from Arizona for Irish Fest. It is a remarkable festival celebrating the Celts with outstanding entertainment, all for the price of 12$ for seniors and 17 $ adults. The "We Bango 3" were awesome. Talent plus. Also Ronan Tynan gave a fantastic performance and looked like he was having as much fun as we were.He ended his show with "God Bless America" and I don't know if there was a dry eye in the crowd. It was great. Saw "Switchback" and what a treat. Wow, those fellows can play! I want everyone to know that this festival is the absolute best. The entertainment was constant and with something for everyone. Mark it on your calender for next year. Worth a trip to MIlwaukee.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Irish Fest Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This has been a family tradition for 20 years. We have never had a bad time even in the rain. Festival grounds are right on the Lake. $12 Senior/ $17 Adult admission. Can't been the price for all day entertainment. Don't know if all the ethnic fests are this great but don't miss Irish Fest. 3rd weekend in August each year.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Perfect Setting for a Festival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Located on lake Michigan with several stages, abundant vendor space, extremely clean restrooms this is a wonderful facility. We were there for the Milwaukee Irish Festival and could not have had a better time. Every city should have a permanent facility like Henry Maier.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henry Maier Festival Park also viewed

 

Been to Henry Maier Festival Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henry Maier Festival Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.