We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Marriage: Architecture and Structure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee Art Museum

Milwaukee Art Museum
700 N Art Museum Dr, Milwaukee, WI 53202
414-224-3220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 90 attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Museum boasts an extensive collection of nearly 20,000 works, representing such artists as Pablo Picasso, Georgia O'Keeffe and Andy Warhol.
miami
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect Marriage: Architecture and Structure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have always appreciated Calatrava's work, as I've seen some of his work...this one by no means fall short of awe inspiring......if you are like me , a plain and simple structural engineer, you need not to pay admision to see the exhibits, and delight on the building itself, which you can see without paying......be carefull with your jaw as it might get hurt while dropping to the floor.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    198
    31
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Indiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perhaps the second most amazing modern building I've visited.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very cool design, lovely location on lakefront. Modern ship departing to the east. Collection is impressive for a regional art museum. "Art in Bloom" was exhibit when we visited. Floral designers were each assigned a work of art to inspire them. Neat juxtaposition of art and flora. Enjoyed everything about visit except the snow in mid-April :-( .

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A little piece of awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

It was a beautiful morning in Milwaukee, not a cloud in the sky and 40 degrees. Perfect backdrop for this museum and its galleries. It has a good mix of art from classic and unique sculptures to beautiful and largely diverse paintings. My favorites I saw were by Joan Miro, Maurice de Vlaminck and Harry Bertoia. The entire museum is doable in 2 to 3 hours (even 1.5 if you're in a rush) and definitely worth the price of admission. I would visit the museum again next time I'm in Milwaukee. Only tip would be to find cheaper parking. Museum parking: $7 (1-2 hours) $9 (2-3 hours). If it's a nice day it's worth driving a little bit away from the museum and enjoy the walk.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Salsa Dancing at the Museum?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

MAM: After Dark has to be one of the most exciting things about Milwaukee, as far as featured events go. The art museum hosts a Friday night event once a month to a certain theme. Salsa, Circus, Black and White... & Those are just the recent ones. There is food, drinks, and misc events in relation to the theme. Plus the Museum is still open as well.

For the Salsa Event:
There was Salsa Tasting competitions with a few local restaurants. Menu tasting from 2 restaurants/vendors. 2 cash bars. And the big one: Salsa Dance instruction!! It was the best. People of all levels and abilities were out there learning the basic moves and then jazzing them up with their own personal flare. I loved it.
I used the underground heated parking, which was $15 but there was plenty of street parking. The Drinks weren't too high in cost either.
Definitely would recommend this as a family event or even as a date night.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Coolest building on the planet - not an exaggeration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The #1 reason to come to Milwaukee and an architectural masterpiece. It's appearance is something that can be seen a hundred times and still be awe inspiring.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Milwaukee Art Museum to your Saves list