We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite the place to see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee Art Museum

Milwaukee Art Museum
700 N Art Museum Dr, Milwaukee, WI 53202
414-224-3220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 76 Attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum boasts an extensive collection of nearly 20,000 works, representing such artists as Pablo Picasso, Georgia O'Keeffe and Andy Warhol.
Dousman, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Quite the place to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Not only is this a real plus to the lakefront in Milwaukee but you can watch the "wings" open. They have a traveling exhibit which changes every few months and is very worthwhile. If you are a senior and go on the first Thursdays of every month, it costs nothing to get in and see all of the exhibits. Parking is close by and the view of the lakefront in itself is spectacular esp. if it's a sunny day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    739
    247
    42
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, WI
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Color Rush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just stopped in on a Milwaukee visit and checked out the photography exhibit "Color Rush" - it was excellent! If you like photography - this is a great show to check out. Lots of interesting tidbits about color and its early use in photos from past to present.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Be sure to see the Calatrava wings open!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Lovely building. Interesting Permanent collection. Good gift shop. Special exhibitions always thoughtful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Loved the Posters of Paris show in September 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went on a weekday so we were able to park under the museum and walk up. The poster show was fantastic - seeing all those iconic images in person was great. The gallery was well suited for the show. The building is amazing and the collection will surprise people. They do a great job of getting important traveling exhibits booked there.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, IL
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wings and Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

First I must say that the building is a masterpiece. I did not know to be there at 10am to watch the opening of the wings. I will be sure to include that on my next visit. I gather they close at the end of the day, also. The collections include some very interesting German metalwork goblets and clocks. There are some old masters, and impressionists, including a lovely Caillebotte of rowers on a river. The modern and contemporary galleries are enormous, with many significant works. They have a whole area exhibiting Georgia O'Keefe's. A special area for children was being enjoyed by them on my weekend visit. There is a coffee shop in the lobby, which I tried, and a restaurant which I did not. I would say the strengths of their collection are definitely 20th century, but there is so much else here, too. I was quite impressed by the size.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.