We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure to see the Calatrava wings open!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee Art Museum

Milwaukee Art Museum
700 N Art Museum Dr, Milwaukee, WI 53202
414-224-3220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 88 attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Museum boasts an extensive collection of nearly 20,000 works, representing such artists as Pablo Picasso, Georgia O'Keeffe and Andy Warhol.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Be sure to see the Calatrava wings open!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Lovely building. Interesting Permanent collection. Good gift shop. Special exhibitions always thoughtful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    189
    30
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Loved the Posters of Paris show in September 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went on a weekday so we were able to park under the museum and walk up. The poster show was fantastic - seeing all those iconic images in person was great. The gallery was well suited for the show. The building is amazing and the collection will surprise people. They do a great job of getting important traveling exhibits booked there.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, IL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wings and Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

First I must say that the building is a masterpiece. I did not know to be there at 10am to watch the opening of the wings. I will be sure to include that on my next visit. I gather they close at the end of the day, also. The collections include some very interesting German metalwork goblets and clocks. There are some old masters, and impressionists, including a lovely Caillebotte of rowers on a river. The modern and contemporary galleries are enormous, with many significant works. They have a whole area exhibiting Georgia O'Keefe's. A special area for children was being enjoyed by them on my weekend visit. There is a coffee shop in the lobby, which I tried, and a restaurant which I did not. I would say the strengths of their collection are definitely 20th century, but there is so much else here, too. I was quite impressed by the size.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing color photography show at the MAM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Be sure to see the show Color Rush: 75 Years of Color Photography in America at the Milwaukee Art Museum through May 19, 2013. Comprehensive, around 200 works from Ansel Adams to current photographers. Not to be missed!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis IN
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An exciting Art Museum- recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The exterior of the museum is interesting, but the interior is stunning! Gorgeous building! I really enjoyed the 75 Years of Color exhibit- I learned so much on placing my life in the context of the implementation and impacts of color photography. Don't miss the slideshow within the cloaked room- sit down for an intimate portrayal of scruffy 70's big city lifestyle all while the projectors clack and whir.

Fantastic expressionist art Kandinsky, Munter, nice sized cubist Picasso. The entire upper Bradley floor is awesome- just looking around that gorgeous huge space filled with impeccably displayed art. Also enjoyed the folk art section.

No bathrooms in the galleries was not so convenient after drinking too much coffee! My wife and I really enjoyed our visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Milwaukee Art Museum to your Saves list