We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Covers a lot of topics” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee Public Museum

Milwaukee Public Museum
800 W Wells St, Milwaukee, WI 53233
414-278-2702
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 243 things to do in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Featuring more than six million objects and a variety of exciting exhibits, this is considered one of the best natural history museums in the United States.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Covers a lot of topics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I visit a lot of museum and this is one of the best in the Country.
There is a lot to see and you can spend the whole day here. They do go way over board on the evolution stuff. They should read about DNA once than they would learn a thing to about real science. DNA disproves evolution. Old Milwaukee part is very good along with the live butterflies.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    148
    27
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good way to kill some time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was a good way to kill some time before our flight. The exhibits were nicely put together and clean. It is easy to get lost though because there are many paths. I really liked the Streets of Milwaukee section on the first floor.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A really nice museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The exhibits are so well done with lots of dioramas, sure to entertain and educate the entire family. The I-Max Theatres (additional cost) offer wonderful hour-long features on various topics-story of the Monarch butterfly is currently playing with a wonderful live butterfly exhibit (cost included with admission to the Museum). Milwaukee can be proud of this outstanding Museum.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't miss if you're in Milwaukee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This Museum was great fun and definitely not something you want to miss if you're in Milwaukee. The exhibits were great and there is SO much to take in that you would need several hours to ponder over all of the information. My wife and I weren't really able to sit and read all of the information on all of the exhibits, but they were incredible enough to stand alone. The Old Streets of Milwaukee exhibit and the European Village exhibits were absolutely incredible. Full houses, rooms and shops built to scale to reflect how they looked in their time and the detail that goes into them is absolutely incredible.

The butterfly exhibit is absolutely tranquil and is very fun. Having all of the butterflies going around you is a very surreal experience. There was a lot of things that made the Public Museum great, but the butterfly exhibit was really a stand-alone experience.

The only con is that it is a little pricey and parking is at an absolute premium. You can either pay $10 dollars to park or struggle to find a parking spot somewhere near the court house. It wasn't very easy, but we eventually managed to find a spot about 2 blocks away from the museum. As for the cost, I come from St Louis, so most of our attractions are not only great, but also free. So it's kind of hard to justify spending money on things like museums and zoos.

Overall, do NOT miss this if you are in town. The exhibits are great (if not a little age-worn), the detail is incredible and you will have a GREAT time. Expect to spend about 2.5 to 3 hours here minimum and that's if you're just skimming over a lot of the information and detail.

Pros: Exhibits are incredibly detailed, butterfly exhibit, tons of small things to observe and look at, lots of artifacts and very relaxing.

Cons: Parking can be a pain, some exhibits haven't held up well with age.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The only reason I don’t give this 5 stars is because I wish they could expand! They have so much to offer, and much of it even surpasses their competitors in others cities. The Butterfly Exhibit is fun for all ages, as it is relaxing and you get great knowledge about the life of any given butterfly type. I especially love when first entering the glassed-in exhibit how you can view the “cocoon” phase of the butterfly. These cocoons are displayed within a display case, and each are labeled as to the type - very cool! Just outside this exhibit is a bug exhibit. I’m not one for bugs, but it’s apparent this is a hit! These bugs are both poisonous and non-poisonous. Often there is a museum professionalism that allows individuals to get-up close and handle any given species/insect/etc./etc. in which they’re highlighting. I also love the Old Streets of Milwaukee exhibit! This exhibit is actually larger than the one displayed in Chicago (I believe it’s at the Science and Industry? Perhaps the Field Museum? . . . . both of which are AWESOME!), and the attention to detail for each culture is amazing. The IMAX is also not something you’ll want to miss. Granted, you do have to pay extra (even museum members must do so, albeit a discounted price), but I believe it’s well worth it. For those that are coffee aficionados - NOT TO WORRY! They have a stellar little coffee hut that features all-things caffeine and then some, including juices, waters, and I believe smoothies? I would advise parking in MacArthur Square and then entering the museum from this garage. We’ve been going here for years, and I still haven’t tired of this place!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee Public Museum also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee Public Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee Public Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.