We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee Public Museum

Milwaukee Public Museum
800 W Wells St, Milwaukee, WI 53233
414-278-2702
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 280 Attractions in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Featuring more than six million objects and a variety of exciting exhibits, this is considered one of the best natural history museums in the United States.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Oshkosh, WI
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Went with my three children ages 14, 11, 8. We had a wonderful time. It is amazing to walk through the exhibits. Great presentation on the Native Americans of Wisconsin and a rotating platform of them dressed in their regalia to show what a pow wow would be. Pirates special exhibit was fascinating. Learned how the slave trade influenced pirates. Well done!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    145
    27
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was the second time I've been to this museum. Not a place you need to go to more then once. Nothing changes, first time took four hours to go through. This last time we were there for maybe a hour and a half. Is very neat place though if you haven't been to it. Strongly recommend it! 3 levels!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Horeb WI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pirates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Really enjoyed this attraction today 4-13-13 at the Milwaukee Museum. For $26.00 you get a short film on the history of pirates like Sam Bellamy. How and where pirates started and why piracy ended. The finding of the pirate ship Whydah of the coast of Cape Cod and a lot of the treasures found are part of the exhibit and they are amazing. I suggest you really take your time and read all of the information, look at the exhibits and talk to the people within the exhibits dressed and playing the parts of pirates. It was a very enjoyable day of learning history.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Something for everyone! Archaeology, geology, biology, butterflies, pirates, villages, streets, ... I could keep going - there is so much to do and so much to see that one day wouldn't be enough.

I would definitely go again and would definitely recommend everyone else go too!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love the Streets of Old Milwaukee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My favorite exhibit is the Streets of Old Milwaukee. Two full blocks of period buildings with a working theater and candy store. Chicago's Museum of Science and Industry used to have a Main St that was much small than this (and has gotten smaller still over the years).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee Public Museum also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee Public Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee Public Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.