We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee Public Museum

Milwaukee Public Museum
800 W Wells St, Milwaukee, WI 53233
414-278-2702
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 89 attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Natural History Museums
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Featuring more than six million objects and a variety of exciting exhibits, this is considered one of the best natural history museums in the United States.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Libertyville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This place was ok, but felt like it hadn't been updated in 20 years. I understand it's a museum and not likely to have many hands-on activities but it became a bit of a drag after a couple hours. The butterfly room was the highlight of the day.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    122
    18
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mckinney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lots of fun for young and old”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Three generations went to the MPM for the first time together and everyone had a great time. Very well done and something for everyone, we could have spent most of the day here if the little ones in strollers could have held out. The butterfly room was especially fun.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good place for relaxing without a schedule”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I visited the museam while they had "Real Pirates". It was a great attraction but a bit overpriced. If you are not a huge pirate lover, I would not pay the extra money, although it was interesting to see the artifacts. The Dome Theater was amazing. I have seen an Imax theater before, but this dome theater offers a way better experience, I would reccomend watching "Into the Artic". Also, the cafeteria closes at 1:30. So plan to eat before you come. I ended up eating a soggy beef sandwich from the coffee shop.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fun memories”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I remember going here on field trip as a kid. Amazing that they still have the same things. Makes it a fun trip down memory lane.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“So many great things to see! IMAX theatre & more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have been here with my kids many times, and we never get tired of seeing the Streets of Milwaukee and the various other exhibits. Museum membership is a particularly good deal. They do a Halloween trick or treating event that is worth the membership alone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee Public Museum also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee Public Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee Public Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Milwaukee Public Museum to your Saves list