We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Museum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee Public Museum

Milwaukee Public Museum
800 W Wells St, Milwaukee, WI 53233
14142782702
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 130 things to do in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Featuring more than 4.5 million objects and a variety of exciting exhibits, this is considered one of the best natural history museums in the United States.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have been to many museums, and my heart always goes towards MPM. Some things may be a little dated, but they have been improving by adding 'Did You Know' signs by many of the windows. The butterfly garden is always my favorite area. And of course, Old Streets of Milwaukee! Hands down, a great place to wonder around and educating children!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    162
    34
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the cost of admission”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The butterfly garden is very nice. Especially the hatching station where you can see molting of several species in real time is fascinating. It's also too small to redeem the whole visit.
The rest of the collection is somewhat comprehensive between the depictions of wildlife and an array of artifacts from around the world. However, it has a very dated feel to it, nothing stands out in comparison to other comparable museums around the country, and we found the descriptions very poor. Most of the artifacts and organisms don't have any tags save a generic statement about the whole display. This was also a big flaw of the otherwise attractive looking exhibit The Streets of Old Milwaukee.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“From Dinos to the 1890's to Rain Forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My grandchildren loved the museum because there was so much to see and do. Sara's favorite was the butterfly exhibit, she's 2. Tommy loved the dinosaurs even though they were a bit scary, he's 4. We'll be back to explore The Streets of Old Milwaukee when they are decked out for the holidays.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I might be a little spoiled since being from Chicago I grew up going to the Field Museum and the Museum of Science and Industry, but this museum was very small and it seemed like most exhibits were just replicas, not original artifacts. It was also on the small side. I don't think we were there more than an hour.

We pay the extra money for the IMAX show, and it wasn't really for adults in my opinion, more for kids since it was very basic.

On the plus side, every body on staff was very friendly, and the museum was very clean and well kept.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still Reliably Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

From the Streets of Old Milwaukee and the Europeans Village to dioramas of local environments and all around the world, young and old alike will find displays that fascinate.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee Public Museum also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee Public Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee Public Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.