We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Exhibits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee Public Museum

Milwaukee Public Museum
800 W Wells St, Milwaukee, WI 53233
14142782702
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 137 things to do in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Featuring more than 4.5 million objects and a variety of exciting exhibits, this is considered one of the best natural history museums in the United States.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Enjoyed the whole experience, a very well run museum in all respects. The live butterfly room was wonderful, great to watch the kids expressions when they encountered the insects. Would go back next time I am in town.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elgin60123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You want to visit this museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Everything about this museum is great. The exhibits were most interesting. Free flowing atmosphere, where even if it is packed with people you still can walk around and view the exhibits. I learned a lot from going there.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unity, WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have been going to this museum since I was little. The staple exhibits are unique and interesting, so I can see the same things every time I go, but I always find something new! The special traveling exhibits and imax are great as well. Although they are pricey, you will find that one of the special exhibits can take up an entire afternoon!

(I love the museum so much, my husband and I actually had our wedding reception there!)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A World-Class Museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you've ever seen museum exhibits that have a dummy or taxidermied animal in the foreground and a panoramic painted back-drop (like Pocohontas in Night At The Museum) the you've seen what's known as 'The Milwaukee Style' of exhibit. The Milwaukee Pubilc Museum is HUGE and filled with amazing exhibits in the Milwaukee Style and many contemporary styles too.

The Streets of Old Milwaukee are fascinating, and the European Village is exceptional (I always visit at Christmas to see each house decorated for the season!)

The Native American exhibits are astonishing - some of the best you'll see. The museum has recently unveiled a whole new floor of exhibits that will boggle the mind!

All of the special exhibitions I've seen have been excellent (Titanic, Frogs, Mummies, Cleopatra, etc.) Highly recommend purchasing tickets for the special exhibitions as well as the main museum.

The Imax is pretty standard, always fun!

Great facilites - nice large cafeteria with lots of choices.

One of the best museums in America - highly underrated. A real gem!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank timdonderevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saukville, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Old streets of Milwaukee has to be my favorite! Fun for all ages so much to see makes for a day of fun when its too cold outside. Be sure to stop by the candy shop in the old streets of Milwaukee.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee Public Museum also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee Public Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing