We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Exhibits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee Public Museum

Milwaukee Public Museum
800 W Wells St, Milwaukee, WI 53233
414-278-2702
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 76 Attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Natural History Museums, Museums
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Featuring more than six million objects and a variety of exciting exhibits, this is considered one of the best natural history museums in the United States.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Elgin, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Enjoyed the whole experience, a very well run museum in all respects. The live butterfly room was wonderful, great to watch the kids expressions when they encountered the insects. Would go back next time I am in town.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    136
    22
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You want to visit this museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Everything about this museum is great. The exhibits were most interesting. Free flowing atmosphere, where even if it is packed with people you still can walk around and view the exhibits. I learned a lot from going there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unity, WI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have been going to this museum since I was little. The staple exhibits are unique and interesting, so I can see the same things every time I go, but I always find something new! The special traveling exhibits and imax are great as well. Although they are pricey, you will find that one of the special exhibits can take up an entire afternoon!

(I love the museum so much, my husband and I actually had our wedding reception there!)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A World-Class Museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you've ever seen museum exhibits that have a dummy or taxidermied animal in the foreground and a panoramic painted back-drop (like Pocohontas in Night At The Museum) the you've seen what's known as 'The Milwaukee Style' of exhibit. The Milwaukee Pubilc Museum is HUGE and filled with amazing exhibits in the Milwaukee Style and many contemporary styles too.

The Streets of Old Milwaukee are fascinating, and the European Village is exceptional (I always visit at Christmas to see each house decorated for the season!)

The Native American exhibits are astonishing - some of the best you'll see. The museum has recently unveiled a whole new floor of exhibits that will boggle the mind!

All of the special exhibitions I've seen have been excellent (Titanic, Frogs, Mummies, Cleopatra, etc.) Highly recommend purchasing tickets for the special exhibitions as well as the main museum.

The Imax is pretty standard, always fun!

Great facilites - nice large cafeteria with lots of choices.

One of the best museums in America - highly underrated. A real gem!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saukville, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Old streets of Milwaukee has to be my favorite! Fun for all ages so much to see makes for a day of fun when its too cold outside. Be sure to stop by the candy shop in the old streets of Milwaukee.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee Public Museum also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee Public Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee Public Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.