We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning sets and music!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra

Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra
1101 North Market Street, Suite 100, Milwaukee, WI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 90 Attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Performances
Attraction Details
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Stunning sets and music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We saw the MSO perform Bartok's "Bluebeard"-- with stunning glass sets by Dale Chihuly. The two singers were excellent, and though the opera is in Hungarian, the titles (above the stage) were easily readable English translations. The Mozart horn concerto was delightful, too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, WI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I was very impressed with the music, I never thought of Orchestra as interesting until I came here to listen.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“First rate fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Enjoyed an evening with Doc Severson and selections from Progy and Bess with my teenage daughter. Nice to step it up a notch to a quality symphony and yet stay in WI- with affordable hotels and dining in the area, we can make a weekend of it and feel elegant yet it's affordable. Looking forward to attending a concert in their regular season.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An Evening with Doc Severnson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

What a evening of great music. Doc just has incredible fun, and the musicians just feed off that energy. The variety of music was impressive, and as usual, the MSO just knocked out another home run for the lucky patrons present. These are one of the best musical organizations in the world- a lot more knowledgeable men and women have already written glowing reviews. Look, just buy a good ticket for you and a friend, and go and enjoy an evening of music that will exceed your expectations- seriously.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Holiday Pops is a great way to ring in the Season!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We saw the Holiday Pops show at the Uihlein Hall a couple years ago and it was a great experience. Wonderfully arranged, the sound was magnificent and we had a lot of fun! Great all year round but especially at the holidays. Don't miss Holiday Pops Too at South Milwaukee Performing Arts Center tomorrow night!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.