We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra

Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra
1101 North Market Street, Suite 100, Milwaukee, WI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 64 Activities in Milwaukee
Type: Performances
Attraction details
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Always a relaxing evening. A chance to hear outstanding music, observe the members, see the sounds come to life not just hear them. A large selection of programs for the whole family. From 5 year olds to 95 year olds.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harshaw, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Audio Visual Delight - MSO in St. Josaphat Basillica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This concert was the main reason we came to Milwaukee. The MSO's Basillica series is a great deal and a truly uplifting experience. The creative program was thoughtfully chosen and very well performed by orchestra and chorus. The setting was truly amazing - a Baroque Style beautifully restored Basillica - complete with pink clouds, cherubs and plenty of gold leaf.

The $30 gallery seats were great acoustically and the view was fine from the 1st and 2nd row.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“This is not a "regional" orchestra. It's world-class by any measure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

In its acoustically pleasing Uihlein Hall, this orchestra is way bigger than the size of the city it represents, thanks to a vibrant cadre of corporate and private sponsors who keep the quality high and the ticket prices reasonable.

I've often been reduced to tears by the sheer beauty of the MSO's performances. A few years ago a particularly stunning rendition of the Verdi Requiem with the MSO's chorus transformed the Hall into an oasis of inspiration and reverence.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Musicianship galore!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The MSO is a collection of incredible talent. I've seen Carmina Burana performed by the MSO and MSO Chorus and been extremely impressed. I do miss Andreas Delfs, but I think the MSO is really getting back into a musical rhythm again. I've never been disappointed in one of their performances.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best in our country!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Not only is the orchestra great, but the Symphony Chorus is amazing!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.