We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice collection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grohmann Museum

Grohmann Museum
1000 N. Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202
(414) 277-2300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 90 Attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Museums
Attraction Details
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The collection of "Men at Work" was a unique theme and it "works". Start at the top with the sculpture garden then move down. Don't miss the QR codes that you can scan and learn more with a recorded message about the piece

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had not heard of the Grohmann, but found it in a list of attractions for Milwaukee. (We are always looking for a place we have not been!). This museum had a neat collection depicting people in trades. The sculpture garden on the roof and views into the stained glass study are not to be missed. We enjoyed the museum and it is a value at $5 each!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A hidden gem of a museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Because the Grohmann Museum is part of the Milwaukee School of Engineering, it tends to be overlooked by tourists seeking "traditional" art museums. But the Grohmann is extremely worth the time spent touring both the building and the "Man at Work" collection.

Dr Grohmann's love of craftmanship is evident in the details of this beautiful building, especially in the rooftop Sculpture Garden, the atrium entrance, and his office itself (which is open to viewing by the public when not in use). And the "Man at Work" collection has some wonderfully surprising pieces in it, including the familiar painting "The Bookworm" and a Remington sculpture of a bronco buster.

The staff is engaging and extremely helpful, and there are multiple pieces of literature to guide you through the museum. A group of high-school students was being led through the collection while I was there, their professor giving them details and background of the paintings to assist them in completing a class paper. It was fascinating information, and I tagged along behind them as much as I could.

Whether you're a student of art or a devotee of architecture or simply a friend of the working man, you'll enjoy your time at this museum.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Wow - what a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

When I am in Milwaukee my sister always takes me to see something different. This year, the Grohmann Museum. I was really impressed. This museum is by the Milwaukee School of Engineering. The art work is impressive and the art is all about the working people in various industries. Doesn't sound interesting? Think again. European Masters bringing industries to life! The entire museum art pieces are a private collection of Dr. Grohmann and his passion for sharing is shown in the low price of $5 entry, $3 for senior citizens. If you only have a short time....visit the first floor and roof top (my two favorites). If you are in Milwaukee at night and the museum is closed, find the building, look to the roof top and you will see the gigantic sculptors lite up along the edge of the building....and each make a complete 360 on their base. Highly recommend and will return.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An unexpected museum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

All the years I've lived in Milwaukee, I never knew there was another art museum here. Its called the Grohmann museum and the art work is dedicated to working people such as myself. The paintings themselves are masterful dating from the 1600's and up. The occupations vary from basket weaving to surgery. The roof-top garden is a great place to see the Milwaukee view and look at large statues of many occupations. Incredibly wonderful and peaceful. The nominal admission fee is a bonus.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grohmann Museum also viewed

 

Been to Grohmann Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grohmann Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.