We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel in Wisconsin” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Milwaukee South - Airport

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Milwaukee South - Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Milwaukee South - Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5037 South Howell Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53207   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel in Wisconsin”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I recently stayed at the Motel 6… couple words to describe this hotel. Full of drugs,obvious patrons soliciting prostitution. Police are there on a daily basis either looking for someone or arresting someone. I really don't know why this hotel is still by a major airport where lots of people commute in and out of. I hope in the future that either the city or the hotels in the area come together to shut this embarrassment of a hotel to the Milwaukee area.

Room Tip: Any rooms near the north south east or west avoid .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Milwaukee South - Airport, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear rousch - We sincerely apologize for the unwelcoming environment you encountered during your recent stay. These issues are not consistent with our quality and experience standards at Motel 6. Please kindly contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    6
    10
    14
See reviews for
6
8
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stay at many Motel 6 locations around the US and had friends in from out of town. We saw a few little bugs around the sink and cleaned them off. Sure enough, many little bugs started jumping all over the place and indeed the room was infested with fleas. The manager did give us a full refund, but I was so embarrassed for my city and this location. Best to avoid Motel 6 by the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Milwaukee South - Airport, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Dale R - Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We sincerely apologize for the pest issues you encountered during your stay with us. Thank you for reporting this to our staff; we take your feedback very seriously as we work to improve our guests' experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed one night with family- May 2013 . Registration check-in staff counter never greeted with a smile but instead requested for an international passport both husband and wife; even though my son studying at UW-Madison for 4 years produce his University student card and credit card, which they refuses.. Very embrassing for tourist like us We never expected to been attended such a manner. The room was good in decoration but small. It's okay. It's not a sound proof room for we can hear the next room person talking. The building are made of wood.The rest seems to be just fine. Some renovation are going on A lady at the breakfast room are quite nice and smile at us' which good for the business.Morning breakfast really made us delighted and enjoyed it very much. But not during checked in;which are not suppose to happened. Hopefully the management will overcome this shortcoming.Anyway, we a quite happy .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

First off, the hotel is located right across from an airport, but despite that fact my mother and I did not hear the planes while inside. We got a two bed room located across from the laundry room. The room was clean and the beds were soft (not firm - on a scale of 1 (soft) to 10 (firm) they were probably about a 2 or 3). There was ice available and there were vending machines.

To access the internet it was an additional charge ($3 or so) so we did not think spending the few dollars was worth a few hours of internet.

It was okay overall - cheaper than other hotels in the area, so you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

You have to pay $21 more for a fridge and microwave . they only clean your room twice if you stay a week or more
I'll never come here again
Housekeeping is rude and the manager dose not train the staff correctly .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

The room was fairly clean and the rates were extremely cheap but totally not worth it. The bed was so uncomfortable that I actually woke up with my knee hurting, keep in mind I'm 23 with no knee problems. There was not even a chair for the table in the room. The TV is tiny and you could hear everything going on outside and in the rooms next to me. The best thing I could say about the place is that I didn't see any bugs. I travel for my job and use travel advisor alot and will be writing reviews fairly. My partner from the company I work for said his bed was ok. But I think after 12 years of being on the road, he is more used to sleeping on crappy beds in cheap hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed one night at this location in October 2012. I was awakened at 2 am by the strong odor of cigarette smoke. I went to the front desk where I was told that despite Wisconsin law prohibiting smoking in hotels, the desk clerk allowed it. When I protested, this 70-yr-old great grandmother was thrown out at 2:30 am in 45 degree weather, barefoot and in my night clothes. I called the police from 3 blocks away who told me the desk clerk alleged I was creating a disturbance and I must leave. The Manager said he backed his employee complete. If you like cigarette smoke, this is the place for you. If not, give it a WIDE miss. I am now on their "Do not rent to" list.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Milwaukee South - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Milwaukee South - Airport

Address: 5037 South Howell Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53207
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Milwaukee South - Airport 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly staff of this Motel 6 is what keeps bringing guests back! Located less than 1/2 mile from Milwaukees General Mitchell Intl Airport & within 10 minutes of the zoo & state fairgrounds. WiFi all guest rooms for $2.99 Per 24 hours. 100% Smoke Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Milwaukee South - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Milwaukee South - Airport Hotel Milwaukee
Motel Six Milwaukee
Milwaukee Motel Six
Milwaukee Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Milwaukee South - Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.