We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Better Then Most” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Milwaukee South - Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Milwaukee South - Airport to your Saves list
Motel 6 Milwaukee South - Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5037 South Howell Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53207   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Better Then Most”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I stayed / lived at the Motel 6 Milwaukee Airport for a month while training and relocating for a new job in the Milwaukee area. My work as an over the road truck driver gives me the first hand experience of staying at many value motels including many in the Motel 6 brand.

Remember folks, you get what you pay for. If you had a reservation across the street at the Best Western but the hotel was full and you ended up staying at the Motel 6, can you honestly expect it to be even close to the same?

Pros: Indoor coordiors, well lit / good security, convenient to many restaurants and the airport, clean rooms (usually where Motel 6 as a whole struggles) decent Television channel selection, god value.

Cons: Bed squishy (personally I don't like a firm mattress anyways) drug activity in the area (but not in the hotel itself) bathrooms only have a shower stall and no tub, front desk staff is FLUENT in English and the hotel in general appears to be well managed.

I would give this Motel 6 an 8 out of 10 on the Motel 6 scale, and a 7 out of 10 on the grand scheme.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker, this entire hotel is non smoking. Ask for a room on the first floor near an ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    7
    10
    18
See reviews for
7
10
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Searcy, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Well, like others said, it is in a pretty seedy area. It is not a good representation of Milwaukee at all. The people staying here were similarly seedy looking---perhaps some were druggies and prostitutes, or perhaps they just looked that way. The front desk was very helpful, and Linda was sweet. However, it looked as though they picked up the cleaning crew from a prison break. Others commented on stolen belongings. We didn't have that experience (though we took our valuables with us during the day), but it looked as though it was possible due to the quality of the help. With 9% unemployment, Motel 6 should be able to upgrade easily. Anyways, the halls smelled funny, but once in the room it was okay. It was pretty clean, and it was your standard Motel 6 room. For the price, the room wasn't bad if you can handle a bit of a ghetto feel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cunningham, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

where should i start how about with the first night. there was bugs in my bed manager did give us a voucher for a free night and key to another room. the manager refused to enter the room when she brought the key. while at work the next day house keeping made themselves at home. they went through our bags in the room to the point that closes where in the wrong bags. the voucher for the free night was gone along with some food items that we had with us and a bottle of body wash. we tried to talk to girl at front desk about voucher and items missing and she was rude with us.after house keeping had their way with our bags they didn't even other to give us clean towels or should i say towels at all. i didn't have high exprectations of this room but this was rediculous and would not recommend this place to any one not even my worse enemy.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010 via mobile

VERY GHETTO AND DIRTY. DIRTY BUILDING WITH OBVIOUS PROSTITUTION AND DRUGS PREASENT.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

I was reluctant to stay at this hotel but decided to keep an open mind despite the negative reviews. I am used to mediocre accomodations so my expectations were pretty low. Overall, I was disappointed and will not be staying there again.

The room was small and nothing special. They didn't have any shampoo in the room so be sure to bring your own! They have recently "freshened up" the rooms with new paint and carpeting but they still need work. My air conditioner was not working so they gave me a new room. I was grateful for that but the bathroom light wasn't working in the new room and the shower head was broken. We decided to just grin and bear it for the night and bring it up to the manager in the morning.

The next day, I told the manager about all of the trouble and she was kind enough to apply a small credit back to my visa card. Next time I'll spend a little extra money to stay at the Best Western across the street.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Girl at check in was friendly and efficient. Paid $57 (tax incl.) for room with 2 queens on weekday, no breakfast. Outdoor pool was cold and not pristine. Got the impression some people lived there rather than stayed for a few nights (. Room okay but carpet filthy (got black feet from walking around barefoot) and sink didn't drain very well. Fire alarm went off a couple of times (no fire) and stopped again before we went to sleep but luckily not during the night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

The base rate here was just $32 ($36.66 with tax) compared to the otherlow priced motels like Red Roof from $45 and up. If you want just a low frills cheap place to sleep this is just fine. I was delivering a Mercedes I had sold so security was my main concern after reading some of the other reviews. I found a parking space right out front under a street light and had no problems. The lady at the counter was friendly and cheerful and the corridor did have a smell to it, kind of like potatos, but any new place you visit is going to have a different smell to it. The room itself was fine except the bed was too soft and you could hear every footstep from the floor above. Either ask for 2nd floor room or take a sleeping pill. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Milwaukee South - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Milwaukee South - Airport

Address: 5037 South Howell Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53207
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Milwaukee South - Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly staff of this Motel 6 is what keeps bringing guests back! Located less than 1/2 mile from Milwaukees General Mitchell Intl Airport & within 10 minutes of the zoo & state fairgrounds. WiFi all guest rooms for $2.99 Per 24 hours. 100% Smoke Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Milwaukee South - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Milwaukee South - Airport Hotel Milwaukee
Motel Six Milwaukee
Milwaukee Motel Six
Milwaukee Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Milwaukee South - Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.