We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miss it....one of my all time favorites in Mexican food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Revolucion - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Revolucion
2901 West Morgan Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53122
(414) 383-4108
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Miss it....one of my all time favorites in Mexican food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I want to know what happened to them. They haven't been open for some time. Everyone that visited Milwaukee I took to this restaurant. They loved it, too! I am sad to see them not open. The owners were so nice. The food was excellent. I went there at least every other week. Wow. Miss you guys and hope everything is okay.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Oh no! It's closed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We went for dinner tonight, 20 March, to find the restaurant closed. R.I.P. Revolucion.....We'll miss the not-so-salty chips, the excellent guacamole, and the generally tasty food as well as the warm atmosphere. Prices were a bit high for Mexican fare...was that the cause of their demise? Or was it the fact that the building screamed 'I was a Dairy Queen' that kept some people from giving it a try?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't drive by this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A place for delicious and authentic Mexican food and the Molcajete is superb. Be careful not to touch the molcajete which keeps the fajita ingredients warm. The restaurant is in a former Dairy Queen and do not let that bother you or let you drive by. Once you go inside the interior has been remodeled to give it a flavor of Mexico.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Odd little place, great flavors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We really enjoyed the food at Revolucion. Some of their offerings have flavors I have not seen at other Mexican restaurants. I had the tostaditas (think that is what they called them) sampler. Had potatoes, mango salsa, something else, and a hint of heat. Another sample was bbqd something with onions and avocado. Yummy. Instead of feeling like the usual mex rest experience where I picture everything made in mass quantity, they had much more attention to the detail of their plates.

Ambiance was a little strange. Think it's a former Pizza Hut. The exterior does not mask it well, but the interior has vintage portraits and interesting design choices. Service was good and attentive, prices were decent. Not sure if this is a family business or not, but I wish them success.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Never disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have dined at Revolucion at least a half a dozen times in the last year and have never been disappointed. The chicken tinga de pollo and steak fajitas are my favorites. Also the Senoritas are delicious (combination of margarita and sangria). Everyone should try out Revolucion!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Revolucion also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Revolucion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;