We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Benelux & Market

Cafe Benelux & Market
346 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202
414-501-2500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 1,423 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Zionsville, Indiana
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Unique!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We walked around the Milwaukee Public Market on Sunday morning, then got hungry so headed across the street to Cafe Benelux for lunch. We had a short wait as the place was really busy. This was our first visit, so actually had a difficult time decided what we were going to try. He decided on the Harlen Pannekoeken and I had something called Hodge Podge. Both were really quite delicious, though perhaps may have been a bit heavy had we stopped for breakfast instead of lunch.
The food was a little pricey, and was $35 for the two of us for lunch +tip, The clientele was mainly 20-30 somethings, mostly either couples, or groups of friends enjoying a beautiful Sunday in Milwaukee. I would not recommend bringing children, as the menu is not really geared for them. There is also very little room for strollers or other child gear.
I would likely return and bring out of town guests, or friends who are really into the European beer scene.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    114
    29
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Saturday morning breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Had the good fortune of eating here on one of the first reasonably warm and sunny days this spring. We re fortunate to snag a table in the sun upstairs-so enjoyable. Interesting menu. My husband and I had the pannekoeken- the Harlem and Spanish one. Both good but beware that the chorizo on the Spanish one makes it spicy; very good, but spicy. Our daughters had the breakfast burrito and the Belt ( basically a blt with egg and garlic aioli). Their breakfast potatoes are good. Portion sizes are large. We didn't sample the beer or Bloody Mary menu, but both looked very tempting. Friendly and outgoing server who made a point of making a little conversation and not just taking your order and disappearing. You feel like you are in a European cafe where everyone speaks English. Loved it and will be back!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, WI
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a must stop for those who like fine beer. Make sure you come back the next morning (or just stay there until morning - ha!) and have breakfast. I recommend the Mrs. Hollandaise! Great service to boot!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dinner, yes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Totally recommend the roasted red pepper hummus with pancake parmesan chips for an appetizer. Large selection of beers on tap and in bottles. Dinner service was good on a busy night and the staff was friendly. Cool atmosphere.
Breakfast not as good as dinner.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, il
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome food and beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Food was amazing. Off duty waitress recommended blue cheese tots & burgers. Amazing. Good sesame cilantro slaw too. They offer the most beer varieties I've ever seen, very packed Saturday night. Waited an hour, but worth the wait.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Benelux & Market also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Benelux & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Benelux & Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.