We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Saturday morning breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Benelux & Market

Cafe Benelux & Market
346 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202
414-501-2500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,433 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
121 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Saturday morning breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Had the good fortune of eating here on one of the first reasonably warm and sunny days this spring. We re fortunate to snag a table in the sun upstairs-so enjoyable. Interesting menu. My husband and I had the pannekoeken- the Harlem and Spanish one. Both good but beware that the chorizo on the Spanish one makes it spicy; very good, but spicy. Our daughters had the breakfast burrito and the Belt ( basically a blt with egg and garlic aioli). Their breakfast potatoes are good. Portion sizes are large. We didn't sample the beer or Bloody Mary menu, but both looked very tempting. Friendly and outgoing server who made a point of making a little conversation and not just taking your order and disappearing. You feel like you are in a European cafe where everyone speaks English. Loved it and will be back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bcmufam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
De Pere, WI
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a must stop for those who like fine beer. Make sure you come back the next morning (or just stay there until morning - ha!) and have breakfast. I recommend the Mrs. Hollandaise! Great service to boot!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emerging1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner, yes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Totally recommend the roasted red pepper hummus with pancake parmesan chips for an appetizer. Large selection of beers on tap and in bottles. Dinner service was good on a busy night and the staff was friendly. Cool atmosphere.
Breakfast not as good as dinner.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rmtphd_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, il
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome food and beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Food was amazing. Off duty waitress recommended blue cheese tots & burgers. Amazing. Good sesame cilantro slaw too. They offer the most beer varieties I've ever seen, very packed Saturday night. Waited an hour, but worth the wait.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
152 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We attended a wedding in the city and just googled places that would serve breakfast the next morning. This restaurant was just three blocks from our hotel – what a find! Excellent, excellent, excellent. Unique choices for breakfast all nicely prepared and served. The polenta was incredible, the quinoa skillet while extremely unique was yummy. Watching the other people’s meals come, the portions are huge – the French toast and quiche looked incredible. The service was great, the atmosphere cool and the food delicious. Would recommend this to anyone. While we were there for breakfast we didn’t have drinks but looked at the beer menu, I mean beer “book”. Their beer selection is huge and carries many hard to find craft beers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tinleyparktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Benelux & Market also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Benelux & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing