We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Saturday morning breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Benelux & Market

Cafe Benelux & Market
346 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202
414-501-2500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 1,410 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Wheaton, Illinois
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Saturday morning breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Had the good fortune of eating here on one of the first reasonably warm and sunny days this spring. We re fortunate to snag a table in the sun upstairs-so enjoyable. Interesting menu. My husband and I had the pannekoeken- the Harlem and Spanish one. Both good but beware that the chorizo on the Spanish one makes it spicy; very good, but spicy. Our daughters had the breakfast burrito and the Belt ( basically a blt with egg and garlic aioli). Their breakfast potatoes are good. Portion sizes are large. We didn't sample the beer or Bloody Mary menu, but both looked very tempting. Friendly and outgoing server who made a point of making a little conversation and not just taking your order and disappearing. You feel like you are in a European cafe where everyone speaks English. Loved it and will be back!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    106
    26
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
De Pere, WI
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a must stop for those who like fine beer. Make sure you come back the next morning (or just stay there until morning - ha!) and have breakfast. I recommend the Mrs. Hollandaise! Great service to boot!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dinner, yes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Totally recommend the roasted red pepper hummus with pancake parmesan chips for an appetizer. Large selection of beers on tap and in bottles. Dinner service was good on a busy night and the staff was friendly. Cool atmosphere.
Breakfast not as good as dinner.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, il
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome food and beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Food was amazing. Off duty waitress recommended blue cheese tots & burgers. Amazing. Good sesame cilantro slaw too. They offer the most beer varieties I've ever seen, very packed Saturday night. Waited an hour, but worth the wait.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We attended a wedding in the city and just googled places that would serve breakfast the next morning. This restaurant was just three blocks from our hotel – what a find! Excellent, excellent, excellent. Unique choices for breakfast all nicely prepared and served. The polenta was incredible, the quinoa skillet while extremely unique was yummy. Watching the other people’s meals come, the portions are huge – the French toast and quiche looked incredible. The service was great, the atmosphere cool and the food delicious. Would recommend this to anyone. While we were there for breakfast we didn’t have drinks but looked at the beer menu, I mean beer “book”. Their beer selection is huge and carries many hard to find craft beers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Benelux & Market also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Benelux & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Benelux & Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.