We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty hotel, nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4620 South 5th St, Milwaukee, WI 53207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pretty hotel, nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Nice-looking hotel from the outside, but what's important is the inside lobby nice, staff friendly, room well appointed and comfortable. Checkin was hasslefree and quick. Michelle picked me up quickly and checked me in quickly. Bistro was open I had a nice glass of wine and a very fresh salad.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daryl j, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard Milwaukee Airport was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    37
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
24
19
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plover, WI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a fairly new Courtyard right by Milwaukee's Mitchell Airport. I've stayed here several times & always had a good experience but yesterday's check-in with Diane was above & beyond. She was so professional & welcoming! Check in was fast & friendly. I know how hard it is to find great employees & I hope Marriott realizes the gem they have at the front desk in Diane!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daryl j, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard Milwaukee Airport was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

We will most certainly pas this on to Diane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed for the July 4th weekend as we were attending a wedding shower. The hotel sits just off the street and very close to the airport. We were able to locate it with no problem and there are plenty of restaurant options around for those who are hungry. Upon entering, the hotel is beautiful. Very modern and has everything you could possibly need. There is a "market" adjacent to the check-in with all of those things you may crave or have forgotten. Perfect. And the $$ for those items was not out of line. The staff was awesome. There were a few of us staying there and arriving at different times, so we wanted to be sure that we all were on the same floor and they made sure that was possible. Also, we had our gifts shipped to a friend in the area, who then dropped them off with the hotel before we arrived. They safeguarded them for us and were so helpful all the way around. It was a hectic shower and when we returned we went to dinner. The staff assured us that we could have a fire when we returned. It (the fire) was really nice. The patio and firepit are beautiful. Music is piped in and we were all able to catch up. This hotel, with its layout, amenities and staff would be a great family reunion type place! The whole downstairs was spotless and beautiful. The room was very new and also very clean; did not smell bad :) as we all know that some hotels, while they say NO SMOKING, the guests don't listen and ruin it for future guests :(...but not the case in this hotel. All fresh and nice. Beautiful décor, almost "homey" in color palette. Made one feel very welcome. Never tried the hotel evening bar as it was closed when we were finally back, but having Starbucks brewed coffee in the lobby was a plus as I am not a fan of in-room coffee. Props to Marriot for providing the brew directly into the cup Cuisinart coffee makers in the room tho! Awesome and also very clean! Had we had better quality coffee, this would have worked out well, but it is irrelevant as the hotel lobby coffee was sooo good and just an elevator ride away! :) Pool, hot tub, great fitness with MORE THAN ONE TREADMILL. This is greatly appreciated. Again all clean. We will stay again. From top to bottom a great experience!

Room Tip: Go with the top floor away from the elevators for a quieter night. Due to the hotel being set away o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daryl j, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard Milwaukee Airport was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I haven't stayed at Courtyard hotels in ages, but was pleasantly surprised with my one night business stay at this property. I had a morning flight out of Milwaukee, and this was a very convenient and quite comfortable place to stay the night prior to my flight.

I was warmly greeted at checkin, and the very nice man explained the facilities, hours of services, etc. My king bedded room was very well designed and furnished, with modern decor, and colors. The arrangement of the bed and furniture maximized the space of the room, and gave it a very spacious feel. The wireless internet was complimentary, and there was a refrigerator and coffee maker provided, along with a large tv and lots of channels.

Little things, but important to the business traveler, are the location of power outlets by desks, chairs etc, and there were plenty, and located well. The sofa was large, and had flat armrests on either side, perfect for holding a drink, paperwork, etc. Really a great designed room!

didn't use the fitness center or pool as I,was only there one night, but both looked very nice, as was the lobby breakfast/snack/bar area.

The room was quiet, slept great, and the bathroom was large, with good shower pressure.

Very nice and friendly property!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daryl j, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard Milwaukee Airport was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Park, IL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at the Marriot Milwaukee Airport when we went to the Summerfest because we couldn’t get a room at any of the downtown hotels.
For the price, this place is very nice. It is quite clean and tastefully decorated. Even though I wasn’t flying anywhere, I was impressed with the easily accessible computer terminals for printing boarding passes.
We were able to get a cab to Summerfest for $20 through a private limo driver the hotel has an arrangement with. He was supposed to pick us up when we called to come back, but that didn’t work out so we ended up getting a regular taxi cab on the way back. That price was about $28.00 with tip. There were several other options available to get to and from Summerfest, but that worked fine for us.
We were a little disappointed not to have complimentary fresh coffee available in the lobby like most hotels provide. There was a Starbuck’s, though, so that was fine. Like another reviewer mentioned, that Starbuck’s does not accept gift cards or rewards cards for some reason.
Maybe it’s the new trend, but I really don’t care for the way the lobby front desk is set up with just two little counters. When we checked in (early – at 12:30, which was great) one woman was juggling people between both of them and also had to check out the Starbuck’s customers because their cash register was broken. I thought that was kind of strange and unprofessional, since this one young woman couldn’t really take the time to accommodate the people who were trying to check-in. We were just handed our keys and sent on our way.
I felt the front desk service left something to be desired. Eventually, a couple more people showed up to help out, but the atmosphere felt rushed and disorganized. However; I must say, the check-in was very quick and efficient. I just like the feeling of hotel personnel focusing on me as a guest for a few minutes when I get there.

One other thing: our room was at the back of the hotel, above the firepit. I always wear earplugs because I am sound-sensitive. I did not hear anything from the people outside by the fire. However; I was just dozing off when a huge tour bus pulled into the back area and the noise from the idling engine for 15 minutes was very annoying.

All in all, I would recommend staying here. It’s much cheaper than the downtown hotels and only 10-15 minutes away from the lakefront festivals.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daryl j, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard Milwaukee Airport was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future. We do close the official Bistro in the morning so around 12:30 when the desk was shuffling the payments it was due to the cash register being closed but not broken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I have traveled around the world many times and this was one of the worst hotel stays I have ever had. The facilities are new and thus nice but the level of service and attention to guest needs is appalling. When we checked in the desk clerk was talking to some intoxicated I assume wedding quests and made the comment that she would rather be partying with them. That evening our room was on the back side of the hotel and a number of people were outside by the "fire pit" area drinking, making noise, and with inappropriate language. At 10 PM I called the desk and was told that they would take care of the noise. At 11 PM I called again and was told they were sorry. At mid-night the noise continued. I sent an email the next week to the manager of the hotel expressing my concerns and disappointment and never heard a word back. Unbelievable. We later contacted the hotel because my wife thought that she left her jacket in the closet and was told that the manager would get back to us. Once again never heard a word. If the manager of the facility does not take notice, why would one expect their employees to be guest focused.

Nice place, but poorly managed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My family and I spent 3 nights here. Very up to date, nice property. Rooms were nice, patio area with fire pit was nice. Pool is on the small side for the kids but it did the trick. Starbucks in the lobby for a wake up. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daryl j, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard Milwaukee Airport was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.Glad you like the Starbuscks coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport

Address: 4620 South 5th St, Milwaukee, WI 53207
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new state-of-the-art lobby at the Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. At the center of it all is The Bistro, your destination for a great Starbucks beverage, breakfast, or drinks and dinner during the evening. You'll also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool will help you stay refreshed and energized. The Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport is centrally located to the Harley Davidson museum, Miller Park, Summerfest Grounds, and the Milwaukee Art Museum. We are also near many corporate offices including Caterpillar, Rockwell Automation, Johnson Controls, Krones and many others. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport is sure to exceed all of your expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.