We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4620 South 5th St, Milwaukee, WI 53207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #21 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
San Simeon, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were happy with the king bed room- nice decor, comfy bed, large bathroom. Staff was nice, but don't eat at their "bistro." Overpriced and bland. There are restaurants (Culver's, Taco Bell, Beer Belly's) within walking distance and definitely within a short drive. We didn't try them, but they can't be any worse than the hotel food. Quick 10 minute drive to downtown. Shuttle pick up from Amtrak airport station took 30 minutes, but it seemed that they had limited staff working that night. Next day we hopped on the shuttle right away at the hotel to go to the airport. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get the top floor- we had an elephant staying in the room above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed and clean and quiet stay at our hotel. Our hotel is currently ranked #2 out of all Courtyard by Marriott hotels in cleanliness of the guest room overall. We pride ourselves in providing each guest with a fresh clean room and a great experience during their stay.

I'm sorry to hear that you felt the Bistro food options that you chose were bland. If possible I would love to hear which selections you made so that maybe we can look at specifically what the issue was. If you have any time in the near future please email me directly so that we can address your experience specifically.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely,

Clint Wills
General Manager
clint.wills@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    32
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
20
16
3
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a Courtyard that changed the restaurant area, adding a counter to make food purchases. They bring out your hot entrée when it is ready. No problem with the concept, but I was put off by paying in advance and being presented with a ticket that had a place to enter a gratuity before calculating the total. I usually don't tip at a fast food bar but gave them the benefit of the doubt and added fifteen percent, in anticipation of good service. I carried my coffee to a table. A few minutes later a staff person placed my hot breakfast sandwich in front of me, complete with a small fruit cup. He quickly disappeared. I looked down and noticed that breakfast did not include either a napkin or any utensils. I ate the sandwich by hand and used my fingers for the fruit cup, then found my own napkin. Upon checkout when I expressed my concern about the lack of service, the desk clerk suggested that I post my complaint here. Very strange for sure. They also need to have a sign warning that they serve only Starbucks. Too bad, burned coffee just isn’t my thing either.

Room Tip: If you have a problem don't bother complaining to the hotel staff of asking for a manager who is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
I’m very sorry that this was the way in which your minor complaint was handled. This is absolutely not the way in which we train our associates to handle complaints. If there is a guest complaint the front desk is trained to do whatever they can to resolve it while the guest is still on property. If they are unable to resolve the issue in a satisfactory manner with the guest they must alert a manager.

In regards to the issues you experienced at our hotel I would once again like to apologize. The Bistro restaurant and lounge is the new concept for Courtyard by Marriott’s and all will soon be converted to this concept. Marriott has chosen this concept to closely resemble the Panera bread chain concept of fast casual service. The fact that you were not furnished with silverware or even asked if you required anything else when your breakfast selection was delivered is simply unacceptable.

Once again I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences and the lack of service you experienced while staying at our hotel. At the Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee airport we hold ourselves to the highest standards not only in regards to the level of our product but also the service that we provide to each and every guest. I’m very sorry that we fell short of even our own standards during your stay. I do however want to thank you very much for bringing this issue to my attention. Its honest feedback from guests such as yourself that help us get better and further train our associates.

I hope that the next time you are in town you will give the Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport another chance as I will ensure you that you will experience much better customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Beautiful, recently renovated Courtyard. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location, minutes from the airport and only 10-12 minutes to downtown Milwaukee. Room was very nice and comfortable and modern!

I'll definitely return next time I'm in MIlwaukee!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you very much for providing your kind comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at your hotel. We are always very pleased when guests comment not just if they had an issue but also if they had a great experience at our hotel.

I will ensure to share your kind comments with all of our associates.

Sincerely,

Clint Wills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Having stayed at many Courtyards and other Marriott Hotels, we picked this one because of its closeness to the Milwaukee airport. It was adequate as far as accommodations in the room, but seemed to be a bit overpriced. If you don't want the food and drink offerings of the Bistro restaurant and it's hours of being open, then your only choices are the restaurants that would require a car or delivery services. Really out in the middle of nowhere if coming from the north as hotel is difficult to get to due to road construction. Front desk person was very helpful and offered us luggage cart to bring everything inside. Parking is free and lots of it.
Perhaps if not traveling on holiday week, then room price would be a bit more reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to post a review about your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport.

I was very glad to hear that the front desk staff was helpful and courteous during your stay. At the Courtyard by Marriott we pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service.

We do indeed have an on-site restaurant and lounge called the Bistro. The Bistro is a newer concept restaurant for the Courtyard by Marriott brand and is being rolled out to all Courtyard by Marriotts around the country. The Bistro is a fast casual restaurant very similar to a Panera bread.

If one of our guests are looking for a restaurant with different offerings then our Bistro we do have a wide array of restaurants within a three mile radius of the hotel. There is a great steak house called the Packing House just 1 mile down the road from us, a great Italian restaurant Tenutas and many others.

While we would love to welcome each and every guest to our Bistro and lounge we realize that many guests would like the opportunity to experience other local restaurants. The front desk staff along with our signature GoBoard houses many different dining options.

Thank you once again for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport. We look forward to welcoming you the next time you are in the Milwaukee area.

Sincerely,

Clint Wills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We needed a quick stop near the airport before heading to see family the next morning. This hotel was a pleasant surprise. Totally modernized for a Courtyard. Comfortable. Bar was open when we got there (9:45 pm). Firepit was ablaze outside and we were able to sit, relax and enjoy that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Courtyard by Marriott for your short stay in the Milwaukee airport area. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy our Bistro lounge and also our signature fire pit. All new Courtyard by Marriotts have the new Bistro concept and also the fire pit so you are sure to enjoy the same ammenities when traveling elsewhere in the United States.

Thank you so much again for choosing to stay with us.

Sincerely,

Clint Wills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was such a great hotel with great, friendly associates. From the moment we walked in the door, Krista was able to assist us. We arrived at about 10:00am and had three rooms to check in. I had neglected to call the night before to see if the rooms would be available, but to my surprise they were! Not only was Krista able to help change the names on the rooms, change all the rooms to king rooms instead of what they were originally booked under (two queens), but she was also able to keep us all in the same area! Not only did she go above what I had expected, she did it with a smile and while assisting other guests. Top notch service. She even informed us that the breakfast area would be closing shortly, but that the starbucks was always open and that they'd be turning on the fire pit later that evening. This was the only in depth interaction we had with an associate, but even the housekeepers in the hallway were always kind and smiling. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: The rooms on the north side of the hotel overlook a courtyard area with a firepit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Hello:

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to check-in to your rooms early. We always do our very best to check guests in early before standard check-in time whenever the rooms are available.

Its also great to hear that everyone you encountered was very friendly especially Krista at the front desk. She is definetely one of our shining stars at the front desk. I will ensure to share all of your kind comments with our entire staff.

Sincerely,

Clint Wills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Plenty parking, very clean, new, modern. Beds were very comfortable and clean, The hotel was great but the indoor pool is VERY small, more like an oversized bathtub and the area around the pool is very slippery! Be sure that you or your children DO NOT stand on the sides of the pool on the white edges, you will fall, my daughter and nephew did twice. Also, if you happen to notice that your room is a connecting room and you are connected to people you don't know.......you will hear them like they are in your room. Luckily the people next to us quieted down quite early. Also, outdoor music heard in our 4th floor room? I think that the outdoor music they play all day/night out in the front of the hotel (maybe mood music) could be heard all night in our room.... not loud enough to keep you up but definitely noticeable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for staying at the Courtyard by Marriott during your recent trip to the Milwaukee area. I would also like to thank you for posting your honest feedback regarding your stay.

I apologize about the outdoor music our front desk staff is instructed to turn the volume down around 10pm so that guest rooms are not bothered by it. I will speak with our associates to ensure that the volume is set to appropriate levels.

Thank you for your kind comments I will make certain to share them with our staff.

Sincerely,

Clint Wills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport

Address: 4620 South 5th St, Milwaukee, WI 53207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new state-of-the-art lobby at the Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. At the center of it all is The Bistro, your destination for a great Starbucks beverage, breakfast, or drinks and dinner during the evening. You'll also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool will help you stay refreshed and energized. The Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport is centrally located to the Harley Davidson museum, Miller Park, Summerfest Grounds, and the Milwaukee Art Museum. We are also near many corporate offices including Caterpillar, Rockwell Automation, Johnson Controls, Krones and many others. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport is sure to exceed all of your expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Milwaukee Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.