We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing holiday visit” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Centraal

Cafe Centraal
2306 S. Kinnickinnic, Bay View, Milwaukee, WI
(414) 755-0378
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #155 of 1,405 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing holiday visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

While home, went to get my favorite local burger on a pretzel roll and was disappointed that the whole menu was changed for the holiday week. Ok, switched gears and got a turkey burger (begged waitress for a pretzel roll to no avail) and bun was greasy. Waited a long time for it also. Have to say it was my first bad experience here but will make me think about going next time in town. I like consistency and there was none here. Poor and slow service with mediocre food this time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Go for the drinks, not the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The decor is awesome looking and the number of beers they have it great. I'm not a beer snob by any measure, but I love wheat beers and this is a place I can get a wide selection.
As for the food, I don't know why I always think I'm going to get better at one of these Lowland Group Restaurants. Every one I have been to has average food. Not bad, but not great - nothing special.
They always look so cool, so hip and the menus sound delicious. And I'm disappointed every time. Grrr.
Go for drinks and a fun place to hang out. Don't go if you are expecting great food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very, very good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stopped in for lunch during the week. The food was very good as well as the service. The reason I did not give it five stars is that I had ordered the Marrakesh Shrimp & Chicken and there was no shrimp. The waitress must have overheard me and she said to keep looking, there was shrimp. I did and there wasn't. She came back and apologized, said she had ordered me the Chicken Rice Bowl (different dishes but both very good). She did offer to replace mine with what I had originally ordered or bring me some shrimp to add to what I had. We didn't have a lot of time so I just asked for her to bring the shrimp and I would add it to what I already had. She charged me for the Chicken Rice Bowl (less expensive). I know it doesn't sound like a lot ($2 difference), but to me, that and great food is what makes the difference between a great restaurant and a really, really good one.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
411 reviews 411 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“One of the very bright spots in Bayview”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Have now been to this café twice, once sitting indoors and once enjoying the outdoor patio. Both times I have felt very comfortable, enjoyed the meal, did not feel that it was overpriced, and had good service. This area of Bayview is developing very nicely and café Centraal is one of the bright spots in the area. If you visit when the weather is warm, Asked to sit in the outdoor patio and enjoy a relaxing afternoon or evening. Many different beers are available to sample. A great place to meet friends and/or watch a game on the widescreen TVs

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Pub Atmosphere with Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We vistited Cafe Centraal for lunch last week. Everything on the menu sounds so delicious and it was difficult to make a choice. My friend ordered the Chicken Coq au Vin and couldn't stop talking about how great it was. I had the Bayview Burger and it was a bit overcooked (I ordered it medium rare). The server immediately fixed it and I was brought a new burger and fries within minutes. The burger was delicious! I would definitely visit again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Centraal also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Centraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Centraal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.