We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more like a motel than an Inn” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Inn at Marquette

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Inn at Marquette to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Inn at Marquette
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2301 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“more like a motel than an Inn”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently vacationed to Milwaukee (over labor day weekend.) I will say that the hotel WAS clean. Both people at the front desk we dealt with were pleasant and helpful. The elevator is scary!!! The floors are badly stained (everywhere.) They only have double double-size beds (no King or Queen suites). The hallways smelled awful. The breakfast area has ONE tiny table. We walked into the breakfast area and walked right back out, across the street to the Ambassador Hotel and got something at their cafe (which has Starbucks and goodies.) I would NOT recommend counting on this place for breakfast. There IS free parking!!! People talk about the area: it's downtown guys. It's blocks from Marquette University, about 2 blocks from the Pabst mansion, and about a block from the ghetto. There ARE people walking around at night but my boyfriend and I felt comfortable and never felt like we were in danger. There's a great breakfast place a couple blocks away called the broken yolk: delicious food. No pool :( If you pay more than $75-$100 / night for your stay here, you're being robbed. 2-star at most.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    18
    9
    24
See reviews for
10
19
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poway, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Definitely not a fancy place, but on a sub $100 discount it was worth it for a trip to the university. A lot of people stayed in the hotel for the Brewers' game. Looks somewhat dumpy on the outside and common areas. Rooms were nothing to rave about but do have flat panel TV's. Decent quality Sealy mattress with Pacific Down comforters. Small bathrooms with a single sink.

The positives are the shuttle service that will transport you to/from any location in the downtown metro area and the hotel has wi-fi and USB in the rooms. The restaurant in the hotel across the street is convenient, but a bit pricey for dinner. Found staff to be helpful and pleasant. I wouldn't stay here with young children since it is off the beaten path and has the potential to attract "weekend partiers".

Room Tip: All rooms in the Inn appeared to be of the same quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This hotel was selected basically only because of location and the relatively small selection of hotels near the casino. The area is "urban" (as stated by the front desk). I didn't leave the hotel once I arrived. It wasn't a super bad area but it was enough to be of a concern. Room was very good. Internet was very slow. A strong odor was present in the hallways. Upon leaving at 2AM in the morning for work I got stuck in the elevator for 20 minutes. I had to pry the door open to get out. Called the front desk said someone will be over shortly to look. Well glad I got out because I am out of there for good now.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

Had a good experience with this hotel. Across the street from the pricier Ambassador Hotel with all the same amenities available at a less expensive price. Cardio room in the inn, continental breakfast. Right next to Marquette and driving distance to downtown with a shuttle that runs most if the day. The neighborhood wasn't ideal for exploring at night but other than that a good experience. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I've stayed here several times when I've been on business trips and other hotels were booked or very expensive. The property has improved since my first stays. I stayed for one night in September and it was fine. Room was clean, comfortable and spacious. I love the free parking which makes it an even better value. The best part is their sister property, the Ambassador Hotel, a beautifully renovated art deco hotel, is across the street. The Inn has complimentary breakfast but I never tried it. I go across the street to the cute cafe to get a latte. I had dinner in their bar/lounge and it was fabulous. They have a fantastic menu. They had drink specials, too. So I love that even though the inn is spartan, you can go across the street to enjoy the amenities of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I booked late for my trip so a lot of good hotels were booked, i figured this one have 3.9 review on hotels.com and for 100 dollars how bad can it be. well very very bad, damp and smelly elevator and hallways, bad room, AC on all night and loud, spots on the carpet and the bed sheets, uncomfortable pillows. And their free breakfast is Cereal only.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We booked two rooms for us and another couple for a weekend trip to milwaukee downtown on Expedia. When we tried to check in, they told us that they had overbooked, and that they were paying for us to stay at another hotel. OK, we could live with that, except the hotel was 10 miles away, by the airport, and exactly what we WEREN"T looking for.

In addition. when we were there, there was a homeless lady in the lobby, that started to give my wife a hard time, while the manager on duty and the doorman/security just sat there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassador Inn at Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Inn at Marquette

Address: 2301 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ambassador Inn at Marquette 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Ambassador Inn in downtown Milwaukee, Wisconsin, caters to business and leisure travelers alike, with well-appointed guest room accommodations, ample amenities, and a complimentary continental breakfast for our guests every morning. A wide range of Milwaukee attractions and venues, including the Bradley Center, home to the NBA’s Milwaukee Bucks, the Frontier Airlines Convention Center, and numerous family-oriented attractions are all a complimentary shuttle ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ambassador Inn at Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Inn @ Marquette Hotel Milwaukee
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee Wi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Inn at Marquette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.