We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful. The hotel has been rennovated beautifully.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay Longer & Save
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Cudahy, Wisconsin
1 review
“Wonderful. The hotel has been rennovated beautifully.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

The rooms are spacious with all the amenities necessary for business or travel. The beds are extremely comfortable with luxurious linens .
The food in the restaurant was excellent for all meals throught the day. The snack bar was good as well.
They are close to downtown Milwaukee with a shuttle that will take you anywhere you would like to go and pick you up at a designated time. Awesome experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    246
    76
    41
    36
See reviews for
131
291
62
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milwaukee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

I stayed in one of the whirlpool suites and was extremely impressed with the atmosphere. I was more than satisied with the cleanliness, room service, restaurant, and bar. The location offers easy access to downtown city entertainment and sights. the shuttle offered convenience and ease of transportation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

From the outside it looks iffy- an old building- but step inside. It is a nicely restored art deco hotel which had everything that I look for in a room. Thermostat- a great bed- and most importantly a wonderful night sleep. We spent the money on the whirlpool- i made the mistake of showing my wife a picture of the room. My god- that room was great. The only negative- its right by Marquette- and on a Friday night- people drink- and we were woken up by a drunk guy running head first into the elevator. They should probably walk the halls on weekend- but that was a quick occurrence. I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Lack of a pool area and small rooms make this Hotel a 3.5 star. Good service from the maid,front desk, bartenders and restaurant were big plus's. We paid $85.00 per night so I thought it was a great value. It just is not 4 STARS.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

I only stayed at the Ambassador with my husband for one night. Our room was very large with a seating area. The bathroom was small, but there was a second sink outside the bathroom. Free parking in hotel garage is a definite plus. Did notice some stains on the rug and the blanket in the closet was stained as well. The elevators are really neat and you open a door to get in and out of the elevator. Location was far from the "downtown". Area seems a little shady, but we walked to and from Real Chilli without a problem. Lots of students around this area too. If you want to be around the downtown "action", this is not the hotel for you. But it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomons, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Hello All.

I originally intended to stay at the Pfister, and how i wish i had!

My first experience with the hotel was when we pulled up in front ... we were driven by a friend we had met on the flight so i was in the front passenger seat. At the exact moment we pulled up, a panhandler was standing at my door so close that i could not open my door without it contacting him. I had to ask him, then tell him, three times to please move away so that i could exit the car. I told the hotel at the front desk, it was my impression that they didn't care.

Friday evening i walked to the covenience store ~ a block away because i didn't want to pay $6.00 for the hotel bottle water ... i encountered groups of young men in various stages of inebriation and other folks of a sort that would cause one to recognize that one should be aware of the surroundings.

The room ... art deco ... i think not ... just old and worn.

One of the curtains was partially hanging loose.

There was a wall panel of some sort that had been partially pushed in far enough that one could insert one's hand in if they so chose.

The television cabinet looked like someone had dripped bleach, or a whitening stain of some sort down the front of it.

The couch cushions were sagging and uncomfortable.

We noticed that our sheets were stained, we left the placard on the bed requesting them to be changed the next morning, it was ignored.

We had no privacy placard to hang on the door so saturday morning housekeeping was banging on our door.

No coffee in the room ... well, in all honesty there was one packet of decaf ... but they do have a coffe shop in the lobby where they will gladly sell you all the coffee you might want!

Sunday morning having breakfast in the Envoy, a person from the "neighborhood" entered the fenced off patio and fell and busted his head open.

Sunday evening after our day's outing we returned to the hotel lounge to have a bite to eat before returning to our room. As we sat there a panhandler entered the lounge, walked up to each patron and asked for money ... and the staff did absolutely nothing.

We then returned to our room to find our room had not been made up at all.

We tried to speak with the hotel manager Monday morning when we cheked out, but he was too busy. We were assured by the front desk manager that if we left our contact munbers, the manager would call and speak with us. It's been three weeks and he has not.

I have stayed in hotels probably 150 nights over the last few years and this was the absolute worst experience that i can remember.

Be well and beware of pretty photos and nice words ... it's the substance that matters.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

This hotel is in a bad location with lots of indigent scary people walking the neighborhood,
the hotel has seen better days, the upholstery in the lobby is worn and very dirty, the valet is often missing, we had to carry up the luggage--the reception desk attendants are very nice and polite--the rooms are very very small- but clean with a comfortable bed-a clean bathroom but needs updating, and the towels are poor quality. Overall we would never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#9 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shining example of true Art Deco style, the Ambassador Hotel provides an urban oasis near the heart of downtown Milwaukee. Discover a remarkable blend of modern amenities and 1920's Art Deco design. From the original marble floors and bronze elevator doors to the ornate plasterwork, every detail of the Ambassador Hotel is a testament to the bold beauty of Art Deco. Our spacious guest rooms share the same level of sophisticated decor. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, HD smart elevisions and complimentary Internet access. Savor sumptuous global American cuisine in an upscale yet casual atmosphere at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge. Chef Michael Long crafts globally inspired innovative dishes made using fresh, local ingredients. But first, work up an appetite with a visit to our well-equipped fitness center that features cardio equipment with individual TV screens. Ready to explore all that downtown Milwaukee has to offer? Our complimentary shuttle service provides front door, red carpet service. Host your next social gathering in our Art Deco designed Embassy Room or host a corporate meeting that takes advantage of state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment in our Attache' Room. The Ambassador Hotel offers a variety of intimate event venues that can comfortably accommodate 20 to 80 people. Perfectly located on the west side of downtown Milwaukee near the Marquette University campus, our stylish hotel offers the perfect base for exploring the best attractions in the city. Catch a ball at a Milwaukee Brewers baseball game under Miller Park's retractable dome, attend a show in the Milwaukee Theatre District, tour the Miller Brewery or explore the Harley-Davidson Museum. If you have any questions about area attractions or need assistance arranging tours, please don't hesitate to ask our Guest Experience Manager. Reserve a room at the Ambassador Hotel during your next visit to Milwaukee and experience legendary customer service in extraordinary Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.