We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Danville, IL
1 review
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

The hotel is absolutely beautiful -- with the art deco decor. The rooms are very roomy and the bed is VERY comfy. But above all that, the service by the staff is first rate!

Be sure to take advantage of the free shuttle service that the hotel provides. We were there for 4 days and didn't use our car once we parked. The hotel shuttle took us to the Brewers game, the Harley Davidson museum, the casino, and dining in all the hot downtown spots. Sam, the shuttle driver also took the time to provide a little tourist info.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    189
    56
    36
    33
See reviews for
75
237
52
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

We spent a night at the Ambassador as part of a mini trip to catch a Brewers game and see the Milwaukee Zoo. The location is on the edge of downtown, but not inconveniently so. Parking is free, safe and easily accessed. I was immediately taken by the restored 1920’s Art Deco lobby complete with ornate glass and terrazzo floors. Check in was smooth and the desk person was extremely friendly. As for the room. Wow! I was surprised to find a beautifully remodeled junior suite with a comfortable King bed, Egyptian cotton sheets, Aveda bath products and 42” flat-screen. I have frequented some of the finest hotels in the world, and although not as glitzy as some, this property evokes an old world charm, a unique atmosphere and a spirt of service that I rarely see in the cookie cutter hotels commonly encountered in the states.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We have stayed in Milwaukee a couple times and usually stay at the Hilton City Center. I found a cheap online rate for the Ambassador and decide to stay there instead. I thought the hotel was only ok, but not worthy of it's higher Tripadvisor rating . They are really rocking the 1920's vibe, which was cool. The feeling didn't carry over into the rooms at all. The room we stayed in was rehabbed without any of the historic character. The bathroom was tiny, there was a subtle strange smell, the bed was small, there were stains on the carpeting, and housekeeping had not cleaned the previous guest's pancakes out of the mini fridge. In addition, the location was super off the beaten path. I would only stay here if I was visiting Marquette University, because that is the only thing this hotel is close to.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

This hotel is in an ok part of town, but has free transportation to anywhere in Milwaukee and if you call 15-30 minutes before leaving they will also pick you up, good location to brewers games also. The hotel is great it looks old from the inside and the lobby is still all marble with the old elevators that you have to pull open. The rooms are fantastic smaller but perfect and the beds are the most comfortable I have ever slept in. I travel to milwaukee often and stay here everytime. The bar and restaurant down stairs is also fantastic.

Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington,CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

Nice,clean hotel. Staff was very professional and so helpful with information on sights to see and nice to have a shuttle to get you around the downtown area. Nice restaurant,bar and coffee bar with Starbucks! I was in heaven....all I needed in one place, could not have asked for anything better!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

I don't know if I've ever had a better experience at a hotel. The staff was more than accomodating. The rooms are large, well furnished and clean. We had a large group meeting at the hotel and they handled it expertly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

I stay here many times for both business and personal travel and have never had a bad experience. The atmosphere is welcoming and a swank vibe offers a great place for a martini. The beds are extremely comfortable and the down feather pillows help you forget you are traveling...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#14 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality and exceptional service are a tradition at the Ambassador Hotel. The beautifully restored Ambassador Hotel preserves the original Art Deco style which has made it a Milwaukee landmark and we’ve added all of the luxuries you have come to expect from a modern hotel. Marble floors, elegant bronze elevator doors and Art Deco detailing are the backdrop for the sumptuous bedding, modern amenities, and our top-rated onsite restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.