We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring break miller park trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Silvis, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spring break miller park trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Kids and friends went up to the dells for a few days and decided to swing thru for a brewers game. Found this hotel online expedia and pulled the trigger. Place is well kept, staff was friendly and rooms were very spacious. I would definitely stay here again if looking for a spot in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    282
    85
    45
    40
See reviews for
157
320
64
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Very unique hotel. I loved the fact that they had their own private parking lot. Very nice,
quiet, peaceful stay. All I wanted to do after the Brewers opener was get in a comfy room with my daughter. Was everything I wanted it to be...just wish I had a mini fridge for my soda LOL

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hotel had great decor and a really nice old time feel!! The room we stayed in was unique compared to other hotels we have stayed in before. There was framed mirrors, crown molding, and windows that opened to let fresh air in. Over all we had a great time and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

LOVE this hotel. Art Deco Style, right downtown, free shuttle service every half hour. Room was good, staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations. Lots of options for dining--room service, restaurant (Envoy), popular bar (with 1928 prices during happy hour), and a cafe spot for breakfast needs. Free parking on site in a parking structure. Loved it and would recommend again. Beautiful building. The only thing I wish this had was a comp. breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
10 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Issues-Location although they offer free shuttle to anywhere downtown.
Small elevators
Hard pillows

Nice- Clean room
Spacious room
Excellent service
Decent bar

Could be a nice getaway for a couple not for families

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I took my girlfriend here for her 35th Birthday, and the Ambassador Staff went above and beyond to make this a memorable weekend for her!! This place is AMAZING and VERY well staffed with some of Milwaukee's finest employees! The Bell staff welcomed us in and it felt like we were home, then it was off to the friendliest smiles and a Birthday wish for her that awaited us at the front desk. We entered our room to a bottle of wine and a Birthday card from Connie Hawkins (Guest Experience Manager), and very nicely placed surprises all around for my Woman. We then went down to the bar, and were treated like royalties! Both men wished her a Happy Birthday, and then began to tend her wishes. We enjoyed the Tomato Flatbread that was AMAZING (kudos to the chef)…and by the way, I very much dislike tomato! We encountered a few couples Friday night that seemed to have just as much fun as we were. We had light conversations with the bartenders, and returned to our room for the night! Saturday Morning we enjoyed the Cozy Café, and had some coffee and read the paper while taking in some sun shining the big picture windows facing Wisconsin Ave. We returned later that evening and enjoyed the bar again with some family, and the bartenders again treated us very respectfully, personably, and professionally…..almost like we were their family. The night ended, and we returned to the room. Checkout was at 11….. It was like a Dream Come True!!!

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
It was our pleasure to provide you with an evening to remember. Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. We look forward to welcoming you and your girlfriend on a future visit. Happy Birthday to her once again! Our Guest Experience Manager is looking forward to assisting you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erfurt, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is NOWHERE near a 4star hotel; please note you will be RUDELY surprised to find dirty sheets, stained carpets, extremely thin walls, dirty counters, limited customer service, rotten looking paint, and a 9am housing keeper knock to clean the room topped with a 20 dollar parking fee.

I had 6 people signed up to stay in this hotel and everyone was taken back by the quality of the rooms.

For example, I and another hotel tenant checked into the rooms only to learn the sheets were dirty (You could actually see stains and stray hairs) the front desk was contacted and instead of offering to find another room - they sent sheets to the rooms and instructed us to throw the dirty sheets to the side. Are you serious? In the morning, I learned they really don't clean the rooms from watching the maid. So, I hadn't checked out of the room and went door stairs. I came to find the maid cleaning the room. Cleaning the room did not include changing pillow cases, comforters, the fit sheet, vacuuming, and wiping down the countertops. The only sheet changed was the one between the comforter and bed sheet covering the mattress. Who knows how many bodies have been rolling cross the pillow cases, etc..

The headache associated with working with the front desk and room quality have spoiled any possible future stays.

Note upon exist and being asked about the stay, I communicated I was not happy and the staff didn't bother too resolve it. It is worth noting that individual in my room was so grossed out, she sleep sitting in a chair.

My stay at this hotel was for 1 night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
The housekeeping staff at the Ambassador takes great pride in providing some of the cleanest rooms available in Milwaukee. In fact, our guests rave about how clean and fresh our accommodations are. None of these issues were reported to our staff during the stay.

We have housekeeping on staff throughout the day and night and they would never ask a guest to change their own sheets. As is customary at hotels around the world, daily housekeeping service does not include sheet changes for guests who are staying over, unless requested by placing the water conservation card on their bed the next morning. All other services are provided daily to ensure a comfortable stay for all of our guests.

Our General Manager welcomes the opportunity to discuss your recent stay with you further. Please contact him at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#9 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shining example of true Art Deco style, the Ambassador Hotel provides an urban oasis near the heart of downtown Milwaukee. Discover a remarkable blend of modern amenities and 1920's Art Deco design. From the original marble floors and bronze elevator doors to the ornate plasterwork, every detail of the Ambassador Hotel is a testament to the bold beauty of Art Deco. Our spacious guest rooms share the same level of sophisticated decor. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, HD smart elevisions and complimentary Internet access. Savor sumptuous global American cuisine in an upscale yet casual atmosphere at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge. Chef Michael Long crafts globally inspired innovative dishes made using fresh, local ingredients. But first, work up an appetite with a visit to our well-equipped fitness center that features cardio equipment with individual TV screens. Ready to explore all that downtown Milwaukee has to offer? Our complimentary shuttle service provides front door, red carpet service. Host your next social gathering in our Art Deco designed Embassy Room or host a corporate meeting that takes advantage of state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment in our Attache' Room. The Ambassador Hotel offers a variety of intimate event venues that can comfortably accommodate 20 to 80 people. Perfectly located on the west side of downtown Milwaukee near the Marquette University campus, our stylish hotel offers the perfect base for exploring the best attractions in the city. Catch a ball at a Milwaukee Brewers baseball game under Miller Park's retractable dome, attend a show in the Milwaukee Theatre District, tour the Miller Brewery or explore the Harley-Davidson Museum. If you have any questions about area attractions or need assistance arranging tours, please don't hesitate to ask our Guest Experience Manager. Reserve a room at the Ambassador Hotel during your next visit to Milwaukee and experience legendary customer service in extraordinary Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.