We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay Longer & Save
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Appleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Issues-Location although they offer free shuttle to anywhere downtown.
Small elevators
Hard pillows

Nice- Clean room
Spacious room
Excellent service
Decent bar

Could be a nice getaway for a couple not for families

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    241
    73
    40
    36
See reviews for
126
284
61
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I took my girlfriend here for her 35th Birthday, and the Ambassador Staff went above and beyond to make this a memorable weekend for her!! This place is AMAZING and VERY well staffed with some of Milwaukee's finest employees! The Bell staff welcomed us in and it felt like we were home, then it was off to the friendliest smiles and a Birthday wish for her that awaited us at the front desk. We entered our room to a bottle of wine and a Birthday card from Connie Hawkins (Guest Experience Manager), and very nicely placed surprises all around for my Woman. We then went down to the bar, and were treated like royalties! Both men wished her a Happy Birthday, and then began to tend her wishes. We enjoyed the Tomato Flatbread that was AMAZING (kudos to the chef)…and by the way, I very much dislike tomato! We encountered a few couples Friday night that seemed to have just as much fun as we were. We had light conversations with the bartenders, and returned to our room for the night! Saturday Morning we enjoyed the Cozy Café, and had some coffee and read the paper while taking in some sun shining the big picture windows facing Wisconsin Ave. We returned later that evening and enjoyed the bar again with some family, and the bartenders again treated us very respectfully, personably, and professionally…..almost like we were their family. The night ended, and we returned to the room. Checkout was at 11….. It was like a Dream Come True!!!

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
It was our pleasure to provide you with an evening to remember. Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. We look forward to welcoming you and your girlfriend on a future visit. Happy Birthday to her once again! Our Guest Experience Manager is looking forward to assisting you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is NOWHERE near a 4star hotel; please note you will be RUDELY surprised to find dirty sheets, stained carpets, extremely thin walls, dirty counters, limited customer service, rotten looking paint, and a 9am housing keeper knock to clean the room topped with a 20 dollar parking fee.

I had 6 people signed up to stay in this hotel and everyone was taken back by the quality of the rooms.

For example, I and another hotel tenant checked into the rooms only to learn the sheets were dirty (You could actually see stains and stray hairs) the front desk was contacted and instead of offering to find another room - they sent sheets to the rooms and instructed us to throw the dirty sheets to the side. Are you serious? In the morning, I learned they really don't clean the rooms from watching the maid. So, I hadn't checked out of the room and went door stairs. I came to find the maid cleaning the room. Cleaning the room did not include changing pillow cases, comforters, the fit sheet, vacuuming, and wiping down the countertops. The only sheet changed was the one between the comforter and bed sheet covering the mattress. Who knows how many bodies have been rolling cross the pillow cases, etc..

The headache associated with working with the front desk and room quality have spoiled any possible future stays.

Note upon exist and being asked about the stay, I communicated I was not happy and the staff didn't bother too resolve it. It is worth noting that individual in my room was so grossed out, she sleep sitting in a chair.

My stay at this hotel was for 1 night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
The housekeeping staff at the Ambassador takes great pride in providing some of the cleanest rooms available in Milwaukee. In fact, our guests rave about how clean and fresh our accommodations are. None of these issues were reported to our staff during the stay.

We have housekeeping on staff throughout the day and night and they would never ask a guest to change their own sheets. As is customary at hotels around the world, daily housekeeping service does not include sheet changes for guests who are staying over, unless requested by placing the water conservation card on their bed the next morning. All other services are provided daily to ensure a comfortable stay for all of our guests.

Our General Manager welcomes the opportunity to discuss your recent stay with you further. Please contact him at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

they have excellent food for room service, comfortable beds and room, including some with jacuzzi hot tub. Nice for relaxing. They had old elevators last time i was there and we got trapped, so if they have not upgraded, i would take the stairs or ask if theres a room on the main floor.

Room Tip: Get the deluxe king room with jacuzzi comes with robe slippers and nice amenities. You can pay to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. Yes, the mechanicals of our elevators were replaced recently, without taking away the art deco charm of the original bronze clad doors. Thank you for highlighting our room service offering. It is very popular among our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The Ambassador is located within walking distance of Marquette University and about 20 blocks west of the business and retail center of Milwaukee. The hotel's free shuttle service efficiently links to many restaurants, shopping, and attractions. Combine this with the Envoy restaurant and the Café and the renovated Art Deco style makes for a pleasant stay at a good value

Room Tip: Some of the rooms include a one-person sized whirlpool tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Ambassador. Our complimentary shuttle service is the convenient way to get to your downtown Milwaukee destinations without the hassles of parking. Thank you for choosing the Ambassador! Your business is very much appreciated and we look forward to serving you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Very nice hotel in downtown Milwaukee. The experience was great, the staff was so friendly and very very helpful. They were probably the best staff workers I've ever experienced at a hotel. There hotels had an older feel to it and was very neat looking. There was a bar right in the hotel which was great. They have a free shuttle service which was very convenient. I will be sure to return to this hotel in the future. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
The Ambassador has been providing legendary service to our guests for over 85 years. What a great compliment to our staff of hospitality professionals. Thank you for choosing the Ambassador and it will be our pleasure to serve you again on your next visit to Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I'll admit I'm no expert on the rating systems for hotels, but this does not seem like a 4-star hotel.

I have two options, rate the hotel based on what I paid, or rate based on the 4-star rating. Since not everyone will get the great rate I got through Priceline, I'm rating the hotel based on it's 4 star rating.

Pros:
Friendly, helpful staff (with the exception of one woman the second evening we were there)
Plenty of parking (though it costs $20/night)
Free Wi-Fi
Free upgrade to a single queen room to a King Deluxe room - this room was VERY big!

Cons:
The lobby smells.
The front entrance had a sign telling us to use the side entrance the entire time we were there.
Parking is $20/night, and requires a bit of a walk.
There's nothing in the immediate area to do, unless you want to go to the Rave or get your car washed.

First, a special shout out to Rory! He checked us in and was very helpful with our questions and made us feel very welcome. Sometimes when you book through priceline you're made to feel like you're a second class guest. This was not the case here.

I mentioned the rating above. I'd say our room was up to the 4-star rating, but the lobby and amenities were not. There was a bar, a restaurant, and a coffee shop. Small "business center", a fitness center, and perhaps a single conference room. I'd expect more from a 4-star.

Though the Queen Boutique room we were originally assigned has the same rack rate as the King Deluxe, it felt like an upgrade because we got a bigger room, a bigger bed, and a bigger TV. Beds were comfortably firm, pillows were plenty and fluffy, and the couch was comfortable. It was nice having a 40" TV since it was so far away from the bed.

The bathroom sink is small, but I loved having that sink and another sink with larger counter space just outside of the bathroom. Traveling with my daughter, this was important. Aveda bath products were nice, towels were excellent, water pressure and temp were great, and the shower high enough for my 6'5" frame.

If you look close you'll see dinged up trim, wall paper coming loose, and dirty grouting. None of that really bothered me. Bedding was clean and comfortable, as was the towels.

Just outside the room was a 6-cup coffee pot with a single packet of Wolfgang Puck coffee. No decaf was included but I'm sure it could be had for the asking. Glasses included 4 cardboard coffee cups, with lids (nice touch!) and two large wine glasses. These were large enough to fit a 12 oz beer.

A mini bar was included with the usual outrageously priced items...$3.75 for a snickers, $11 for a miniature bottle of Jack Daniels. Don't make the mistake of pulling an item out to look at it as it's wired with sensors and will bill you for just taking it out. Our mini bar didn't have any prices and the gal at the front desk was a bit snotty to my daughter when she called to find out what things costs. Supposedly there was a placard on the front that gave the prices but our mini bar did not have this. The hotel info book said there were vending machines in the lobby, but they were not there.

My biggest complaints as a "4-star" hotel is that there's just not much to do either in or around the hotel. Priceline says this is in the "Downtown" area, but it is NOT downtown. Some have mentioned that this is a terrible neighborhood but that is not the case. Those folks must live a sheltered life. I had no qualms about walking around the area, even at night. Unfortunately, there's just not much reason to walk around.

For what I paid, I'm very happy with the room and would have no hesitation staying again, but I'd first try to get an actual downtown hotel with much more things in the area to do and see.

Room Tip: For breakfast, walk 3 or 4 blocks east to the Broken Yolk. Great food at a great price, and plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#9 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#14 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shining example of true Art Deco style, the Ambassador Hotel provides an urban oasis near the heart of downtown Milwaukee. Discover a remarkable blend of modern amenities and 1920's Art Deco design. From the original marble floors and bronze elevator doors to the ornate plasterwork, every detail of the Ambassador Hotel is a testament to the bold beauty of Art Deco. Our spacious guest rooms share the same level of sophisticated decor. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, HD smart elevisions and complimentary Internet access. Savor sumptuous global American cuisine in an upscale yet casual atmosphere at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge. Chef Michael Long crafts globally inspired innovative dishes made using fresh, local ingredients. But first, work up an appetite with a visit to our well-equipped fitness center that features cardio equipment with individual TV screens. Ready to explore all that downtown Milwaukee has to offer? Our complimentary shuttle service provides front door, red carpet service. Host your next social gathering in our Art Deco designed Embassy Room or host a corporate meeting that takes advantage of state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment in our Attache' Room. The Ambassador Hotel offers a variety of intimate event venues that can comfortably accommodate 20 to 80 people. Perfectly located on the west side of downtown Milwaukee near the Marquette University campus, our stylish hotel offers the perfect base for exploring the best attractions in the city. Catch a ball at a Milwaukee Brewers baseball game under Miller Park's retractable dome, attend a show in the Milwaukee Theatre District, tour the Miller Brewery or explore the Harley-Davidson Museum. If you have any questions about area attractions or need assistance arranging tours, please don't hesitate to ask our Guest Experience Manager. Reserve a room at the Ambassador Hotel during your next visit to Milwaukee and experience legendary customer service in extraordinary Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.