We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Old Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Geneva
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Old Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a gorgeous old hotel. The lobby and the rooms were very polished and comfortable. The only downside was the elevator. There are two, one of which was broken on Sunday morning meaning it took forever to get anywhere. We actually took our luggage down the steps from the 5th floor because the wait was so long. Otherwise though, we enjoyed our stay. We at breakfast at the restaurant which was good quality for price, better than I expected! Staff were friendly as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and for choosing the Ambassador this past weekend! Our staff takes great pride in proving the cleanest rooms and public areas in Milwaukee. The comfort of our guests and exceeding their expectations is our top priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    220
    64
    39
    36
See reviews for
107
261
58
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Ambassador before, and love its proximity to the University. Because of the exceptional service we experienced our first visit (we had a huge mix up with an online reservation service, not the Ambassador's error) we decided to stay again while moving our daughter to college. The first night of our 3 night stay I had a medical emergency. The staff was incredibly helpful to my husband in working out an extended stay even thought the hotel was nearly full, since I would not be released from the hospital for a few more days. In addition, my husband had put my purse and jewelry in the room safe, and upon removing my purse from the safe the day I was being discharged, my wedding ring slipped out onto the floor. The maid called attention to the ring when my husband returned to the room while she was there. He was awestruck at her honesty - she was a true example of integrity - doing what is right when no one is looking! On my first night actually in the hotel post-surgery, the concierge had a complimentary tray of healthy and soothing snacks and teas for us! For the next couple of days as I recuperating before heading home, the entire staff was so kind and helpful. This hotel is very comfortable and elegant, but they have gone far beyond being 'just a hotel' in my opinion. Cannot imaging staying anywhere else in Milwaukee!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are so happy you are home and doing well. Our guests are an extension of our family and we were delighted to be able to assist you and your husband during your visit to Milwaukee. Thank you for taking the time to share your entire experience with the traveling community. Our staff strives to ensure guest expecations are not just me, but exceeded during each and every visit to the hotel. We can't wait to having you and your husband back when you are aback visiting your daughter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good wine list with a perfect food.
All meals were fantastic with chef Michael.
Best french fries of my life...
The hotel offers free shuttle for downtown area that makes rent a car completely useless.
Driver Sam was fantastic... An authentic city guide.
The other drivers not even close to his standards.
Great stay with a Starbucks café and many tables outside to smoke a cigar sip some wine and chat with friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during the Harley-Davidson 110th Anniversary! It was a great time to be in Milwaukee and take part in the many events surrounding this occasion. We are glad you enjoyed your time at the Ambassador during the Harley celebration and we look forward to having you back for the 115th...if not sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were attending a tradeshow at the Wisconsin Center and the two hotels adjacent to the convention center were sold out. We were pleasantly surprised by the Ambassador Hotel! They completely spoiled our group! All participants of the tradeshow were put on our own floor and a Welcome Reception was provided for our group, special amenities were left in our rooms and a grab and go breakfast was provided on our departure day. The staff was excellent and extremely helpful getting us to and from the convention center. We ate in the lounge and the Jerk Scallops were delicious!!! Room service was great as well! The Ambassador Hotel is a hidden gem! I definitely recommend the hotel and will return next time I am in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Ambassador! We were happy to serve you and the guests from Connect and look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again real soon! Aren't those Jerk Scallops amazing? Thank you for choosing the Ambassador!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had two nights at the Ambassador and really enjoyed it. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they have a great shuttle service that will take you wherever you need to go. We ate at the restaurant one night and had a lovely meal. Our room was quite large and very comfortable. The bathroom was a little small, but adequate. The foyer and restaurant are art deco and very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are honored you chose to stay at the Ambassador and dine in Envoy. It was a true pleasure to have you with us. We do offer some of the largest rooms available and our staff is the finest team of hospitality professionals in Milwaukee. We look forward to having you stay with us at the Ambassador again when your travels bring you to Milwaukee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I had the misfortune to stay at the Ambassador for two nights. While the lobby (the size of a postage stamp) may have been renovated, the guest rooms leave much to be desired.

The basic room itself was large but carpeted with basic industrial carpet you'd find in an office building. Aside from a single lonely side chair there was nothing the least bit "art deco" about the bedroom. The furniture was mismatched and ugly, with cheap finishes and a clashing range of styles. And yes, as noted by other reviewers the room had a musty, unclean smell.

The bathroom, while possibly the most "redone" part of the room, was dirty. A dried yellow stain covered the base of the toilet. Pulling back the shower curtain revealed a moldy shower head. I've uploaded photos of both.

The beds (I was put in a room with two double beds) were little better. One duvet cover bore stains I decided it was better not to investigate and the other other had black streaks across it that looked like shoe polish. The bed linens were thin and worn. And yet, despite these basic failures, a card on the desk trumpeted the availability of a "Pillow Menu" like you would find at a luxury hotel. I didn't bother with it.

For the most part staff worked hard to be friendly and helpful and to make the stay as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit with us. Our guest's usually rave about the hotel, its Art Deco detail, the spacious guest rooms and meticulate attention to details. We are currently reviewing your comments with our housekeeping and maintenance staff to ensure we continue to exceed guest expectations. Our staff strives to provide the cleanest and freshest rooms in Milwaukee to each and every guest. The Art Deco lobby is the most talked about area of the hotel with all of the original flooring, fixtures and orante elevators doors. Our General Manager would welcome the opportunity to discuss your recent stay with you further and we look forward to the opportunity have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our room was very nice. Beds comfortable. Quiet, restful place to sleep. We really enjoyed relaxing in the cafe in the morning. Breakfast was delicious and reasonably priced. Great shuttle service!!!! Friendly and helpful staff. We will return next year for our annual Milwaukee trip!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your sharing your great experience at the Ambassador! Caffe Deco is our coffee shop and serves Starbucks coffee and specialty drinks. In addition, made-to-order breakfast & lunch sandwiches, pastries and desserts are among the items you can enjoy each day. It is a great place in the mornings to begin the day either in the bright atmosphere of the coffee shop or on a nice day, the patio is open to our guests. Our staff strives to exceed the expectations of our guests and we are delighted your experience will bring you back again next year. We look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#11 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality and exceptional service are a tradition at the Ambassador Hotel. The beautifully restored Ambassador Hotel preserves the original Art Deco style which has made it a Milwaukee landmark and we’ve added all of the luxuries you have come to expect from a modern hotel. Marble floors, elegant bronze elevator doors and Art Deco detailing are the backdrop for the sumptuous bedding, modern amenities, and our top-rated onsite restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.