We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were attending a tradeshow at the Wisconsin Center and the two hotels adjacent to the convention center were sold out. We were pleasantly surprised by the Ambassador Hotel! They completely spoiled our group! All participants of the tradeshow were put on our own floor and a Welcome Reception was provided for our group, special amenities were left in our rooms and a grab and go breakfast was provided on our departure day. The staff was excellent and extremely helpful getting us to and from the convention center. We ate in the lounge and the Jerk Scallops were delicious!!! Room service was great as well! The Ambassador Hotel is a hidden gem! I definitely recommend the hotel and will return next time I am in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Ambassador! We were happy to serve you and the guests from Connect and look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again real soon! Aren't those Jerk Scallops amazing? Thank you for choosing the Ambassador!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    198
    56
    37
    33
See reviews for
80
243
53
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had two nights at the Ambassador and really enjoyed it. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they have a great shuttle service that will take you wherever you need to go. We ate at the restaurant one night and had a lovely meal. Our room was quite large and very comfortable. The bathroom was a little small, but adequate. The foyer and restaurant are art deco and very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are honored you chose to stay at the Ambassador and dine in Envoy. It was a true pleasure to have you with us. We do offer some of the largest rooms available and our staff is the finest team of hospitality professionals in Milwaukee. We look forward to having you stay with us at the Ambassador again when your travels bring you to Milwaukee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I had the misfortune to stay at the Ambassador for two nights. While the lobby (the size of a postage stamp) may have been renovated, the guest rooms leave much to be desired.

The basic room itself was large but carpeted with basic industrial carpet you'd find in an office building. Aside from a single lonely side chair there was nothing the least bit "art deco" about the bedroom. The furniture was mismatched and ugly, with cheap finishes and a clashing range of styles. And yes, as noted by other reviewers the room had a musty, unclean smell.

The bathroom, while possibly the most "redone" part of the room, was dirty. A dried yellow stain covered the base of the toilet. Pulling back the shower curtain revealed a moldy shower head. I've uploaded photos of both.

The beds (I was put in a room with two double beds) were little better. One duvet cover bore stains I decided it was better not to investigate and the other other had black streaks across it that looked like shoe polish. The bed linens were thin and worn. And yet, despite these basic failures, a card on the desk trumpeted the availability of a "Pillow Menu" like you would find at a luxury hotel. I didn't bother with it.

For the most part staff worked hard to be friendly and helpful and to make the stay as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit with us. Our guest's usually rave about the hotel, its Art Deco detail, the spacious guest rooms and meticulate attention to details. We are currently reviewing your comments with our housekeeping and maintenance staff to ensure we continue to exceed guest expectations. Our staff strives to provide the cleanest and freshest rooms in Milwaukee to each and every guest. The Art Deco lobby is the most talked about area of the hotel with all of the original flooring, fixtures and orante elevators doors. Our General Manager would welcome the opportunity to discuss your recent stay with you further and we look forward to the opportunity have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our room was very nice. Beds comfortable. Quiet, restful place to sleep. We really enjoyed relaxing in the cafe in the morning. Breakfast was delicious and reasonably priced. Great shuttle service!!!! Friendly and helpful staff. We will return next year for our annual Milwaukee trip!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your sharing your great experience at the Ambassador! Caffe Deco is our coffee shop and serves Starbucks coffee and specialty drinks. In addition, made-to-order breakfast & lunch sandwiches, pastries and desserts are among the items you can enjoy each day. It is a great place in the mornings to begin the day either in the bright atmosphere of the coffee shop or on a nice day, the patio is open to our guests. Our staff strives to exceed the expectations of our guests and we are delighted your experience will bring you back again next year. We look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I had a very pleasant two night stay at the Ambassador. It is an older hotel, but seems to be well maintained. Our room was comfortable and ample in size, though the bathroom was a little cramped. The elevator is a bit old-fashioned, but worked well. We ate in the hotel dining room the first night. Be sure to ask about the very appealing special for hotel guests - $19 for dinner if I remember correctly.. The food was good, though not special. By far the most attractive feature of the hotel is their shuttle which seemed quite happy taking guests most anywhere downtown, and will pick you up when you call and request it. The only catch is that you must leave and return at the times specified, which they inform you about at check-in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
The Ambassador is located on the west end of downtown in the Marquette University neighborhood. The location provides a convenient home base to see many of the area's events and attractions. The complimentary shuttle service is a perfect way to leave the hassles of driving and parking behind and provides front door service to your destination. The shuttle schedule is important to ensure the highest level of service to all of our hotel guests and our drivers are consitently complimented on their service. The Ambassador's Art Deco charm is evident throughout the hotel. The elevator doors are a major focal point and topic of conversation among our guests. Thank you for sharing your experience on how well maintained the hotel is. The housekeeping staff works hard to provide our guests with the cleanest rooms in Milwaukee. Thank you for choosing the Ambassador and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Overall the Ambassador Hotel is fine however the musty smell was overwhelming in our room on the 8th floor (room 813). At first we weren’t sure if the musty smell was coming from the carpet or the air vent system but the next day we discovered the new wallpaper was peeling away from the wall with a layer of black mold behind it. Yuck.

Obviously this is an old hotel that they have tried very hard to renovate. And it was very clean in the lobby and common areas. They have done a nice job with the art Nuevo décor. Our room was large, had lovely furnishings, and was nicely decorated but it smelled like mold.

The hotel was located close enough to the downtown area/city sights and offered free shuttle service to anywhere you wanted to go. There are inexpensive college diners located nearby if you are comfortable sharing the walk with questionable local characters.

You can tell the hotel is trying to be first rate with things like a “Pillow Menu” for people who are particular about their pillow (hypoallergenic, down, etc.)

I was a little disappointed that they didn’t offer a complimentary continental breakfast with their room charge like the Hampton Inn. However the Hampton Inn is a chain and the Ambassador Hotel is unique and part of the community.

Room Tip: Look for peeling wallpaper and mold near the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have resolved the issue with this guest room to ensure the comfort of our guests. We apologize we fell short of your expectations on your visit. The Ambassador is Milwaukee's Premier Art Deco Hotel and the staff prides itself on exceeding guest expectations. Our dedicated houskeeping team provides the cleanest rooms in Milwaukee. We look forward to the opportunity to have you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Accommodations were great. Shuttle service is a great plus as they provided service not only to Miller Park but also to the Art Museum. My only disappointment with the Shuttle Service was they did not go to the Zoo. The Zoo was one place I really wanted to visit as my first trip there was shortly after they opened. Envoy staff were great. The hostess had my friend's breakfast taken off bill as not as ordered. Front desk staff was helpful in providing names of places to eat. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Our complimentary shutle service is a very popular amenity of the hotel. In order to accommodate all of our guests, we do have a specific shuttle map and schedule. Unfortunately, the Zoo is located outside of our downtown service area. Our Guest Experience Manager is readily available to assist our guests with alternate transportation options for destinations outside of the downtown area. Thank you for your great praise of our Envoy and Hotel staffs. Our staff takes great pride in providing personalized service to each of our guests. We look forward to your return to the Ambassador!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#12 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#12 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality and exceptional service are a tradition at the Ambassador Hotel. The beautifully restored Ambassador Hotel preserves the original Art Deco style which has made it a Milwaukee landmark and we’ve added all of the luxuries you have come to expect from a modern hotel. Marble floors, elegant bronze elevator doors and Art Deco detailing are the backdrop for the sumptuous bedding, modern amenities, and our top-rated onsite restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.