We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Write a Review

623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    205
    56
    37
    34
See reviews for
83
245
54
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
varied
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while attending a family wedding and had a fantastic stay! Our room included 2 beds, a couch, a stocked mini-fridge below a second sink, lots of windows and open space, and a beautifully tiled bathroom. It's worth noting that there were ample outlets, great heating/cooling, and nicely done ceiling lights, as I did not expect these from a historic hotel. The place was completely booked during our stay, but we didn't have any issues with noise. I would also mention that they use feather-free bedding (which I appreciate) but include a card in the room giving directions on how to call down to receive pillows that are softer, firmer, or even feathered. What a great touch to ensure a good night's sleep! This is the kind of attention to detail and comfort than you can expect at every turn here.

The building itself is opulent, as I'm sure every other reviewer will also mention. While we were here we tried the bar and enjoyed some 1920s mixed drinks, visited the coffee shop for Starbucks and a salad, and had two meals in the main restaurant. Be sure to have Sunday brunch on site - the small plates are delicious and you can order as much as you like for a flat price. Parking is easy and ample with DIY parking in the well protected garage. The shuttle service was prompt and convenient for both drop-offs and pick-ups. Perhaps my favorite part was the staff. Every staff person we met was helpful, eager, and demonstrated a pride in their jobs that is rare to find.

This hotel is not quite as centrally located as some others in downtown Milwaukee. Stay here anyway, it's well worth it. Their shuttle service makes is easy to explore downtown without driving/parking there, and the other features of this property make it one you'll keep coming back to every visit.

Room Tip: If you stay on a Saturday night be sure to reserve a table for Sunday brunch when you check-in. Tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Ambassador Hotel and our staff. The staff of the Ambassador is here to ensure each and every guest enjoys their stay and that we exceed their expectations at every opportunity. You have highlighted many of our amenities and it is wonderful you were able to experience all that the Ambassador has to offer. While we are located on the west end of downtown Milwaukee at the Marquette University neighborhood, our ample parking and complimentary shuttle make it convenient to move around the city and reach your destinations with ease. Our 1920’s drink menu is very popular with our guests and local Milwaukeeans alike and we offer “Buy One, Get One at 1920’s cocktail prices from 4p-7p daily. We are very much looking forward to your return to the Ambassador on your next visit to Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We traveled to Milwaukee to attend the USA Triathlon National Championship. The organizers of the event did not list all local hotels and we were provided with names of local hotels from the host hotel. We were very happy with the Ambassador Hotel. This hotel Is celebrating its 85th year and is lovely. originL marble floors in the lobby. original elevator entrance doors, decor in the lobby area is beautiful and has been maintained well. Access from the airport and proximity to the race site was excellent. Parking very adequate. The room was lovely and very neat and clean. Room rates are very reasonable. All of the staff were very professional and willing to do anything to enhance our stay. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting in the Milwaukee area.

Room Tip: We chose the room with the king sized bed. Great sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
It was our pleasure to have the USA Triathlon National Championship in Milwaukee last week. We are looking forward to your return next year. Thank you for sharing your experience with the traveling community and we are happy you enjoyed your time at the hotel and Milwaukee. The staff at the Ambassador really enjoyed our conversations with the guests from all over the country participating in the events. It is our 85th anniversary this year and we have many events and special offers taking place throughout the year. Visit our web site often for new specials. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, WI
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed once again at this hotel. If you have a car this is really an ideal location because it's very easy to get in and out of the secure parking lot. They have started to charge your $20 fee per night -- but that's kind of the going rate in the area. I found the service to be helpful and courteous. My room was very clean. There were a few signs of wear and tear but for the most part the hotel is kept in very, very good condition.

You are within 1 mile of downtown Milwaukee with all of its eateries and wonderful pubs. I would recommend the Old German Beer Hall on 3rd St. in the Old Third Ward (try the chili) and St. Paul's fish company in the Milwaukee public market in the Historic Third Ward on Water St. for some deep fried goodness!

Room Tip: Check out the Old German Beer Hall and try the chili dogs!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
The Ambassador prides itself on offering the best value to guests visiting Milwaukee. It is wonderful to see we achieved this goal on your recent visit to the Ambassador. Our parking garage provides ample covered parking, an amenity the guests appreciate. In addition, we offer complimentary shuttle service throughout downtown Milwaukee, allowing our guests to avoid the hassles of driving and parking throughout their travels in Milwaukee. We are very appreciative of your continued patronage to the Ambassador and we look forward to your return. Thank you for your business and for taking the time to post your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fish Creek, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel has saved all of the historical look and feel of the original art deco Ambassador but mad current restorations and improvements. The elevators are fun to just open and shut. he clerk that checked us in was super friendly and offered many suggestions of ways to enjoy our time in Milwaukee. We had no problem arranging the shuttle to downtown and he was easily contacted for a return pick up just before midnight. There was some street noise, understandable for the location. We enjoyed the Starbucks on site and had a comfortable sleep.

Room Tip: We were on the upper floor and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your gracious comments on our staff and the hotel shuttle service. The hotel undertook and extensive restoration to preserve the original 1928 Art Deco charm, while enlarging the guest rooms and providing all of the modern amenities and features our guests enjoy on each of their visits. We look forward to having you back to the Ambassador real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor, michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I too was at the hotel when ProComputerGeek was and I would mirror that review that the hotel was lovely, beautiful room, nice service. But the shuttle was not available to us because 3 employees told us the driver stops working at midnight. When I tried to book the shuttle at the front desk I was told to arrange for a way back or we will be stuck there if it's after midnight and it was too dangerous to walk back. We ended up taking the car with a $30 parking charge at the stadium as it's too difficult to find a taxi after a concert to take such a short trip. We exited the stadium after midnight and would never stay there again for that reason. I had even called them before my trip to verify the return shuttle trip, so we were really let down. Thank goodness I didn't fly so I had the car.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your great comments on our hotel, its rooms and the service of our staff. I am sorry to hear about your concerns with the shuttle. We did successfully transport over 100 guests to and from the stadium for the concert. Our complimentary shuttle service is one of our most popular amenities and we receive many compliments daily from our guests about our staff. The shuttle service does run on a first come, first serve basis from 7:30am - Midnight each day. We do look forward to the opportunity to have you choose the Ambassador on a return trip to Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were in town for the weekend leading up to the Paul McCartney concert at Miller Park. This hotel was a great find. The restorations are magnificent. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bed and pillows comfortable. The final clincher for us staying, however, was the complimentary shuttle service. It allowed us to travel by train and not worry about driving and parking. They took us everywhere in the downtown area we wanted to go as well as to the stadium for the concert. All for a comparable price or less than a chain hotel in downtown would have been. Can't beat that.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Ambassador Hotel during your recent visit to Milwaukee. It is wonderful to hear that we were able to make your travels to and within Milwaukee easier for you with our complimentary shuttle service. We hope you enjoyed the concert at Miller Park and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#9 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#11 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#14 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality and exceptional service are a tradition at the Ambassador Hotel. The beautifully restored Ambassador Hotel preserves the original Art Deco style which has made it a Milwaukee landmark and we’ve added all of the luxuries you have come to expect from a modern hotel. Marble floors, elegant bronze elevator doors and Art Deco detailing are the backdrop for the sumptuous bedding, modern amenities, and our top-rated onsite restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.