We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few small necessities needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Ann Arbor
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Few small necessities needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Overall a wonderfully updated hotel. The bartender was great. The small plate options for our late night dinner were wonderful. New in town it would have been nice to have more signage for where to catch the taxi. Label it West Entrance so we know which one it is without getting out a compass. Put a tissue box in the room. All there is is toilet paper so if that room is occupied too bad. Disposable glasses would have been nice in the room. Our sheets were stained - should be thrown out. Too tired to complain last night. Comfy bed though! Not able to spend much time in the area. Surrounding area looks interesting.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    272
    84
    45
    38
See reviews for
151
314
63
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manitowoc
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We recently stayed at the Ambassador, and this was our fifth visit. I would not stay anywhere else in Milwaukee but this hotel. Service, staff, rooms, food, beverages, all excellent. Classy place, with an utmost professional and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Wife and I stayed at the Ambassador due to one of our last-minute casino getaways. We decided to stay here this time, because I had never stayed here, but had heard many good things about it. To say that this is one of the more better hotels is an understatement; I was very impressed with the hotel, and the fact that due to our late arrival (though no fault of our own) the hotel was very understanding. The shuttle driver we had over to the casino had both my wife and I in stitches laughing both ways, and the hotel bar made the perfect gin and tonic. (I wish I had known about the shuttle before my wife and I got into a cab to the hotel.)

The room we had (a queen queen deluxe) was very clean and well appointed. The beverage machine that I saw was a little bit pricey ($2.50 for a chocolate bar) was interesting. The shower was perfect, and the view from the room (to the north) was also excellent.

All in all, a great stay, and I would definitely consider staying there again next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We wanted to try something new, so we selected the Ambassador Hotel. We liked it because it was within walking distance to the Pabst Mansion, which we visited. We checked in early, but our room wasn't ready, so we went on the mansion tour. The hotel staff called us when our room was ready, which was very nice. Our room was very spacious and had a nice sitting area (which was good since we had friends visit). The bed was amazingly comfortable...great night's sleep. The only downside was that we received vouchers for free in-room breakfast, however the staff insisted that we had to come downstairs to the restaurant to eat. They would have charged us to have it delivered. Otherwise, very good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel with interesting history and decor this is a good choice. The staff was nice and efficient. Room was clean and spacious (except smaller bathrooms). Quiet, clean, beautiful. Ambassador is a gem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Nice and safe hotel next to marquette university.
Bus #30 or #10 --> 22st, 10~15min from downtown, 30min on feet or via Hotel Shuttle Service (runs every hour).
Clean and big rooms, friedly staff, good bar and restaurant included.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Beautiful quiet hotel but our rooms were not clean. We had two rooms for two nights and they were large and spacious, but for such a beautiful old hotel the rooms were not cleaned well. The toilets were dirty and I even question if the bathrooms were cleaned after the previous guests. I know they were not cleaned each day during our stay. There was a heavy coating of dust on the light fixtures, bathroom fan, towel rack, and the top of furniture. What was really disturbing was that the glasses were dirty looking and the cleaning staff did not replace them each day. They were turned upside down again to look like they were replaced. The coffee pot had grounds in it from the previous guests. The ice bucket had greasy finger prints on it. On the upside, we did have a delicious dinner in the restaurant though service was slow.

Room Tip: Inspect the room and ask for it to be cleaned properly if it isn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#9 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shining example of true Art Deco style, the Ambassador Hotel provides an urban oasis near the heart of downtown Milwaukee. Discover a remarkable blend of modern amenities and 1920's Art Deco design. From the original marble floors and bronze elevator doors to the ornate plasterwork, every detail of the Ambassador Hotel is a testament to the bold beauty of Art Deco. Our spacious guest rooms share the same level of sophisticated decor. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, HD smart elevisions and complimentary Internet access. Savor sumptuous global American cuisine in an upscale yet casual atmosphere at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge. Chef Michael Long crafts globally inspired innovative dishes made using fresh, local ingredients. But first, work up an appetite with a visit to our well-equipped fitness center that features cardio equipment with individual TV screens. Ready to explore all that downtown Milwaukee has to offer? Our complimentary shuttle service provides front door, red carpet service. Host your next social gathering in our Art Deco designed Embassy Room or host a corporate meeting that takes advantage of state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment in our Attache' Room. The Ambassador Hotel offers a variety of intimate event venues that can comfortably accommodate 20 to 80 people. Perfectly located on the west side of downtown Milwaukee near the Marquette University campus, our stylish hotel offers the perfect base for exploring the best attractions in the city. Catch a ball at a Milwaukee Brewers baseball game under Miller Park's retractable dome, attend a show in the Milwaukee Theatre District, tour the Miller Brewery or explore the Harley-Davidson Museum. If you have any questions about area attractions or need assistance arranging tours, please don't hesitate to ask our Guest Experience Manager. Reserve a room at the Ambassador Hotel during your next visit to Milwaukee and experience legendary customer service in extraordinary Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.