We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few small necessities needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Ann Arbor
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Few small necessities needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Overall a wonderfully updated hotel. The bartender was great. The small plate options for our late night dinner were wonderful. New in town it would have been nice to have more signage for where to catch the taxi. Label it West Entrance so we know which one it is without getting out a compass. Put a tissue box in the room. All there is is toilet paper so if that room is occupied too bad. Disposable glasses would have been nice in the room. Our sheets were stained - should be thrown out. Too tired to complain last night. Comfy bed though! Not able to spend much time in the area. Surrounding area looks interesting.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    160
    45
    31
    31
See reviews for
61
196
44
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manitowoc
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We recently stayed at the Ambassador, and this was our fifth visit. I would not stay anywhere else in Milwaukee but this hotel. Service, staff, rooms, food, beverages, all excellent. Classy place, with an utmost professional and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Wife and I stayed at the Ambassador due to one of our last-minute casino getaways. We decided to stay here this time, because I had never stayed here, but had heard many good things about it. To say that this is one of the more better hotels is an understatement; I was very impressed with the hotel, and the fact that due to our late arrival (though no fault of our own) the hotel was very understanding. The shuttle driver we had over to the casino had both my wife and I in stitches laughing both ways, and the hotel bar made the perfect gin and tonic. (I wish I had known about the shuttle before my wife and I got into a cab to the hotel.)

The room we had (a queen queen deluxe) was very clean and well appointed. The beverage machine that I saw was a little bit pricey ($2.50 for a chocolate bar) was interesting. The shower was perfect, and the view from the room (to the north) was also excellent.

All in all, a great stay, and I would definitely consider staying there again next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We wanted to try something new, so we selected the Ambassador Hotel. We liked it because it was within walking distance to the Pabst Mansion, which we visited. We checked in early, but our room wasn't ready, so we went on the mansion tour. The hotel staff called us when our room was ready, which was very nice. Our room was very spacious and had a nice sitting area (which was good since we had friends visit). The bed was amazingly comfortable...great night's sleep. The only downside was that we received vouchers for free in-room breakfast, however the staff insisted that we had to come downstairs to the restaurant to eat. They would have charged us to have it delivered. Otherwise, very good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel with interesting history and decor this is a good choice. The staff was nice and efficient. Room was clean and spacious (except smaller bathrooms). Quiet, clean, beautiful. Ambassador is a gem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Nice and safe hotel next to marquette university.
Bus #30 or #10 --> 22st, 10~15min from downtown, 30min on feet or via Hotel Shuttle Service (runs every hour).
Clean and big rooms, friedly staff, good bar and restaurant included.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Beautiful quiet hotel but our rooms were not clean. We had two rooms for two nights and they were large and spacious, but for such a beautiful old hotel the rooms were not cleaned well. The toilets were dirty and I even question if the bathrooms were cleaned after the previous guests. I know they were not cleaned each day during our stay. There was a heavy coating of dust on the light fixtures, bathroom fan, towel rack, and the top of furniture. What was really disturbing was that the glasses were dirty looking and the cleaning staff did not replace them each day. They were turned upside down again to look like they were replaced. The coffee pot had grounds in it from the previous guests. The ice bucket had greasy finger prints on it. On the upside, we did have a delicious dinner in the restaurant though service was slow.

Room Tip: Inspect the room and ask for it to be cleaned properly if it isn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee
Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#12 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#19 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality and exceptional service are a tradition at the Ambassador Hotel. The beautifully restored Ambassador Hotel preserves the original Art Deco style which has made it a Milwaukee landmark and we’ve added all of the luxuries you have come to expect from a modern hotel. Marble floors, elegant bronze elevator doors and Art Deco detailing are the backdrop for the sumptuous bedding, modern amenities, and our top-rated onsite restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.