We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old-flair upper town hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Nuremberg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice old-flair upper town hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Nice and safe hotel next to marquette university.
Bus #30 or #10 --> 22st, 10~15min from downtown, 30min on feet or via Hotel Shuttle Service (runs every hour).
Clean and big rooms, friedly staff, good bar and restaurant included.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    293
    91
    49
    41
See reviews for
165
330
65
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Beautiful quiet hotel but our rooms were not clean. We had two rooms for two nights and they were large and spacious, but for such a beautiful old hotel the rooms were not cleaned well. The toilets were dirty and I even question if the bathrooms were cleaned after the previous guests. I know they were not cleaned each day during our stay. There was a heavy coating of dust on the light fixtures, bathroom fan, towel rack, and the top of furniture. What was really disturbing was that the glasses were dirty looking and the cleaning staff did not replace them each day. They were turned upside down again to look like they were replaced. The coffee pot had grounds in it from the previous guests. The ice bucket had greasy finger prints on it. On the upside, we did have a delicious dinner in the restaurant though service was slow.

Room Tip: Inspect the room and ask for it to be cleaned properly if it isn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I recently spend one night at the hotel it was not the first time there and as usual the room was beautiful, spacious and very clean. The hotel staff overall is excellent. I did have an unpleasant occurrence with the shuttle but I will not hold it against the hotel. It is not worth going in to in this review. The room service is excellent the food is excellent and well worth the price. I always enjoy staying at The Ambassador it really is a diamond in the rough and well worth your time.

Room Tip: Make sure you reserve the shuttle if you are there when you are supposed to be there and they aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at the Ambassador Hotel while in town to see a concert at the Eagle's Club/Rave Club across the street. This worked well for us because we could park our car at the Ambassador for free and walk to the venue. Otherwise, venue parking would have been $25+. This hotel is celebrating their 85th anniversary this year. I was impressed with the beauty of this hotel! It is immaculate and decor is true to period, from the flooring to the light fixtures, even the elevators were cool! The room was just as lovely, but had all of the luxuries that we enjoy in a nice hotel room. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were very spacious. We had dinner in the restaurant. The food was very good (be sure to get the french fries) and the prices were not outrageous. The wait staff was very friendly and helpful and I enjoyed carrying on a conversation with them. We had breakfast in the Starbucks that is in the building and that staff was equally as attentive. The hotel is in the Marquette University area. I am not sure that I would be walking around at night in that area but if you are just looking for a beautiful hotel at a reasonable price, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Room 204 was a very large corner room with two double beds and a full sized couch. Very large room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Two Rivers, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a night when we were in town for a concert. The hotel definitely is a throwback to the elegant hotels of days gone by. The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. Wi-fi was free (as it should be). They have a nice lounge/bar area, which was quite busy. They also offer a dining room with an extensive menu. We had breakfast there, which was very good-- although the wait staff seemed hurried, which was strange because the restaurant wasn't busy at that time. When the hostess who seated us asked if we had any vouchers, we told her was weren't aware that there were any available. She told us that they should have offered to sell us some discount vouchers when we checked in-- but then, she didn't offer to correct the oversight or assist us right then and there. On a more positive note, the shuttle service offered by the hotel was great. We were dropped off at our downtown dinner reservation and picked up at the front door of the Pabst Theater after the concert. Very efficient! We were able to leave our car parked in the Ambassador's free parking area. I made our reservations through Priceline-- a fair price for a nice hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beds are comfy, staff is very helpful, everything is clean. There is a pillow menu.

The restorant has a good kitchen! I ordered onion soup and scallops. The bar is also good, the local beers are tasty.

They have a shuttle service to almost everywhere nearby, for free!!! this was very good because it was too cold.

I had a good experience I hope to go back some day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, MI
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Last week we traveled to Milwaukee for two concerts. The Hotel is conveniently located just west of Marquette University and downtown. It offers an excellent shuttle service to all the important venues: Concerts, Miller Park baseball, downtown, train station, etc.
The hotel is celebrating its 85th anniversary and although recently renovated has maintained the classic art deco decor. The room was very large and clean and comfortable.
Our daughter who lives/works in Chicago took the train up one afternoon to join us for a concert and stayed the night. The shuttle picked her up at the train station and let her into our room while we attended an afternoon Milwaukee Brewers baseball game.
We will definitely stay at the Ambassador when we visit Milwaukee again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#4 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,230 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#27 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#9 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#20 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shining example of true Art Deco style, the Ambassador Hotel provides an urban oasis near the heart of downtown Milwaukee. Discover a remarkable blend of modern amenities and 1920's Art Deco design. From the original marble floors and bronze elevator doors to the ornate plasterwork, every detail of the Ambassador Hotel is a testament to the bold beauty of Art Deco. Our spacious guest rooms share the same level of sophisticated decor. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, HD smart elevisions and complimentary Internet access. Savor sumptuous global American cuisine in an upscale yet casual atmosphere at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge. Chef Michael Long crafts globally inspired innovative dishes made using fresh, local ingredients. But first, work up an appetite with a visit to our well-equipped fitness center that features cardio equipment with individual TV screens. Ready to explore all that downtown Milwaukee has to offer? Our complimentary shuttle service provides front door, red carpet service. Host your next social gathering in our Art Deco designed Embassy Room or host a corporate meeting that takes advantage of state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment in our Attache' Room. The Ambassador Hotel offers a variety of intimate event venues that can comfortably accommodate 20 to 80 people. Perfectly located on the west side of downtown Milwaukee near the Marquette University campus, our stylish hotel offers the perfect base for exploring the best attractions in the city. Catch a ball at a Milwaukee Brewers baseball game under Miller Park's retractable dome, attend a show in the Milwaukee Theatre District, tour the Miller Brewery or explore the Harley-Davidson Museum. If you have any questions about area attractions or need assistance arranging tours, please don't hesitate to ask our Guest Experience Manager. Reserve a room at the Ambassador Hotel during your next visit to Milwaukee and experience legendary customer service in extraordinary Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.