We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cool hotel with a lot of charm and character.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay Longer & Save
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Commerce, MI
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Really cool hotel with a lot of charm and character.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip in November 2012. A coworker suggested we stay here.

This is a really neat old hotel with a lot of charm. I liked the old elevator that you had to open and shut the door manually on. That isn't said in a bad way, because it was really neat.

The room was absolutely huge and appeared to have been remodeled fairly recently, because everything looked so great in it. The finishes, the bedding, drapes, carpet were all really nice and looked so good.

The bathroom and vanity was also very cool. The room and bathroom were very clean too.

We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant and the food was very good.

A hotel shuttle took us downtown at night for an evening of fun, and arrived promptly to take us back when we called.

I highly recommend this hotel, and if my travels bring me back to Milwaukee, I will definately stay at The Ambassador Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    246
    76
    41
    36
See reviews for
131
291
62
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Great value, close to Marquette, not the safest area to be in but quite convenient with a shuttle service to the city not so crowded. I had a daily commute to Germantown which was not too bad in traffic.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at the Ambassador this past Monday, it was our first stay there. I have to say I was very pleased and pleasantly surprised at the quality of my stay as well as the excellent service we recieved!
Our friends arrived at the hotel at 8:00 a.m., and much to their surprise were allowed to check in. We arrived later in the day, but upon check in I asked for and was given an upgrade. The gentleman at the front desk was very happy to do it!
The room was very nice, and very comfortable. I spend a lot of nights in hotels, and it was great to have a room that felt as comfortable as being at home.
We had a couple of drinks at the bar near the lobby. We had been at the Brewers game, and their were a number of other Brewers fans also enjoying themselves around us. We took the hotel's free shuttle to a resteraunt downtown, and we called to have them come back and get us. They said it would be about 5 minutes, and they actually showed up in 2-3.
The next morning we had a breakfast burrito and coffee in the deco cafe near the lobby. It was good and not over-priced.
I have stayed at all of the 4 star and up properties in downtown Milwaukee, and would rate the Ambassador as by far the best value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Last minute decision to stay in Milwaukee and greatly exceeded expectations! The significant investments new owners have made are very evident. Clean, comfortable rooms that emphasize historic Art Deco style. You could tell the staff was proud to have you as their guest. Have stayed in most of the 3 1/2 to 4 star hotels in downtown Milwaukee and this is the first one we were compelled to talk about. With a child attending college near we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight at the Ambassador Hotel March 15, 2013. We had a whirlpool suite on the 7th floor. Lovely, comfortable accommodations, with free parking, a cafe which serves Starbucks coffee in addition to pastries, etc., and a restaurant with delicious food. Both the Wall Street Journal and USA Today and complimentary, and the amenities are Aveda products. The hotel offers free shuttle service to all downtown venues, which is a real benefit. The staff was friendly, professional, and knowledgeable. Breakfast In the restaurant was served by Ike, who filled us in on the history of the hotel and the complete and loving restoration to its art deco style. Altogether a delightful stay, and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is an undiscovered gem in Milwaukee. The restoration they have done is amazing and you truly feel like you've been transported back in time when you walk into the lobby. The service is superb and we couldn't have been made to feel more welcome by the staff. The only complaint I could make is that the beds were so comfortable it was difficult to get out of them in the morning and get moving. The neighborhood may leave something to be desired but parking is on site and there is shuttle service from the hotel. They've also done some wonderful things in restoring the area and adding value to the neighborhood itself. All in all, I was extremely impressed and we absolutely will be back again. Hopefully, next time we'll have more time to spend in the hotel itself.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you like old world charm, this is your hotel. The rooms are large and have a stocked refrigerator. Very clean. The free parking is convenient and safe. Be aware that The Rave is across the street, which is a wonderful convenience if are going to see a show. The hotel can be filled with show-goers and this is a venue for young adults. It doesn't bother me, I actually enjoy their young energy, but if you are expecting a very mature environment, then you may be surprised. Either way, I highly recommend this hotel even above some of the more well known names in the hotel chain business for location, cleanliness, convenience, and atmosphere.

Room Tip: I have stayed here several times and have never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#9 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shining example of true Art Deco style, the Ambassador Hotel provides an urban oasis near the heart of downtown Milwaukee. Discover a remarkable blend of modern amenities and 1920's Art Deco design. From the original marble floors and bronze elevator doors to the ornate plasterwork, every detail of the Ambassador Hotel is a testament to the bold beauty of Art Deco. Our spacious guest rooms share the same level of sophisticated decor. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, HD smart elevisions and complimentary Internet access. Savor sumptuous global American cuisine in an upscale yet casual atmosphere at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge. Chef Michael Long crafts globally inspired innovative dishes made using fresh, local ingredients. But first, work up an appetite with a visit to our well-equipped fitness center that features cardio equipment with individual TV screens. Ready to explore all that downtown Milwaukee has to offer? Our complimentary shuttle service provides front door, red carpet service. Host your next social gathering in our Art Deco designed Embassy Room or host a corporate meeting that takes advantage of state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment in our Attache' Room. The Ambassador Hotel offers a variety of intimate event venues that can comfortably accommodate 20 to 80 people. Perfectly located on the west side of downtown Milwaukee near the Marquette University campus, our stylish hotel offers the perfect base for exploring the best attractions in the city. Catch a ball at a Milwaukee Brewers baseball game under Miller Park's retractable dome, attend a show in the Milwaukee Theatre District, tour the Miller Brewery or explore the Harley-Davidson Museum. If you have any questions about area attractions or need assistance arranging tours, please don't hesitate to ask our Guest Experience Manager. Reserve a room at the Ambassador Hotel during your next visit to Milwaukee and experience legendary customer service in extraordinary Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.