We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic value and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I've stayed at The Ambassador many times over the years and thought I should do it the decency of a review. It's great value - I've stayed here on a corporate rate but today I checked the price on LastMinute.com and for three nights they are charging £70 a night! - which for someone used to European hotel prices is a steal. The hotel is in the Marquette area - by the various University buildings and halls of residence. OK - it's not the classiest of areas, and I wouldn't recommend a yound lady walking the local streets late at night... but given that everything in this town is done by car it's absolutely fine. The only downside is if you sit on their pavement cafe for an early eveing beer you ocassional get a asked for a dollar or a cigarette... but that's pretty universal these days in cities.

The hotel was built in the Thirties and has many Art Deco features. The hotel rightly plays on this heritage and while it was refurbished some years ago still has a great authentic feel. The gust bedrooms are big, well appointed and quiet - I've often spent the day working in my room and they are plenty big not to feel trapped. The bar is fun, and a nice place to have an early evening drink. the restaurant serve a great breakfast... way above the standard Hilton fayre. Dinner, and I've eaten there a few times, is also pretty good to excellent. the staff are super friendly and efficient... from both a leisure and business visitor perspective.

It has safe secure parking... and if you are on a budget or want to have dinner out and drink, a very efficient FREE shuttle bus that will take you Downtown and pick you up.

Overall it's my favourite hotel in Milwaukee and for a business hotel, one of my favourite hotels when visiting/working in the US.

Room Tip: The 03 rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    231
    65
    39
    36
See reviews for
111
269
60
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
minnesota USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Ambassador has managed to renovate to modern standards and retain the character of the 1927 hotel. The registration desk and bell staff are very helpful and professional. We loved the renovated elevator doors and light fixtures. We had 3 King rooms, which were large, well furnished and very clean. Nice mattresses and pillows. There is covered free parking. The hotel is on the edge of the Marquette campus but is very quiet. We would stay here again. There are a few glitches. The lobby and hallways smell overwhelmingly of disinfectant. Our experience in the restaurant was of very poor organization of staff and a very rude hostess...that being said the food was delightful. The fitness center has only one treadmill.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The front desk employee, Eric I think, was so polite, friendly and helpful. He was so helpful with all the information. He asked what brought us to the area and even printed out directions for us to our destination. We didn't even ask!!! The elevator door was held open for us by another employee which I thought was so nice. The rooms are spacious and clean. Free wi-fi and aveda products were a perk! The parking ramp is close to the building. Only downfall is not many channels to choose from which isn't a big deal. The neighborhood is scary but like all the reviews say use common sense. If we come back to Milwaukee I would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We enjoy The Ambassador Hotel because of its friendly staff and fun packages, such as the one for the "Real Pirates" exhibition at the public museum. Especially wonderful is the complimentary shuttle service so that we don't have to worry about how to find an attraction and how to park once we get there. It also is truly gorgeous. Our only complaint is that the soundproofing is not the greatest, but it is not noisy enough to keep us from coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the Ambassador Hotel because it was close to the Eagles Ballroom where we were going to see a concert. The location is ideal and the value is excellent. From check-in to check-out we were treated courteously and professionally by all staff. I almost felt transported back in time with the beautiful art-deco design. The check-in staff greeted me by name and said they had been waiting for my arrival ~ very cool! He referred to the elavator as "the lift" like I was in Europe or something... still very cool. There was hot Wassail available just inside the doors when we arrived back from the concert ~ a very nice touch! The room was clean and the bathtub was deep! Had a nice relaxing bath and slept well. The bed and pillow were perfect. We had a corner room and the sunrise was beautiful the next morning. We had Starbucks coffee down in the Deco Cafe which was very convenient (and delicious). Parking was included in the ramp on the property and I felt safe leaving my vehicle there. Overall, a great value for the money and a great experience; we will be back!

Room Tip: We were in room 404 - double queen bed and a corner room. It was very spacious and had a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We always are very satisfied with our stays at the Ambassador, from the rooms that are clean and spacious, the food in the Envoy, cozy bar, hotel and restaurant service, free shuttles, free parking in ramp overnight and helpfulness of the staff. We love the decor and quaint elevators. We will continue to return and recommend it to many.

Room Tip: This time we were in a 3rd floor king suite and liked being closer to lobby but still hight enough f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Ambassador has beautifully decorated rooms, a friendly and top notch staff and a great casino rate. Although it's an old building and from the outside, you might think "huh?" you'll be pleasantly surprised by its art deco motif. The website photos are very accurate and the rooms are truly huge, which allows the space to socialize with friends or family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality and exceptional service are a tradition at the Ambassador Hotel. The beautifully restored Ambassador Hotel preserves the original Art Deco style which has made it a Milwaukee landmark and we’ve added all of the luxuries you have come to expect from a modern hotel. Marble floors, elegant bronze elevator doors and Art Deco detailing are the backdrop for the sumptuous bedding, modern amenities, and our top-rated onsite restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.