We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Overnight Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My Overnight Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It was an overall great experience. There was some confusion about the shuttle service to the casino, but I love the decor of the hotel. It also has wonderful amenities. I would recommend The Ambassador to all who visit Milwaukee.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    205
    57
    37
    34
See reviews for
83
245
55
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Ambassador Hotel is beautiful, the employees were all very kind and helpful. The Envoy restaurant food was out of this world, we cant wait to eat there again.. The hotel room was clean, big and perfect. We were vey pleased with the Ambassador and will visit again.

Room Tip: Great staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had traveled to Milwaukee for the first time with my son to visit Marquette University as a college option. I booked The Ambassador based on it's location and price. I was so pleasantly surprised at all the other amenities. First of all, the character of the hotel is great. It's Art-deco decor makes you feel as if it were a different era. The room were spacious, clean and comfortable (we even had a large, light bathroom). The best amenity in my eyes, however, was the efficient shuttle service. Being new to a city it was invaluable! They escorted us to restaurants, Marquette and the Bradley area...wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Everything was spot on. From our arrival, check-in, staff, shuttle bus, restaurant, lounge! We loved the Art-Deco style, spotless! Classic in every way. Staff was friendly and all information was accurate. Wes the bartender creates fantastic cocktails. The cuisine at the restaurant was well prepared and at an excellent value for the quality. Our compliments to the Chef and staff. All our return trips to Milwaukee will be to the Ambassador! Other values Free parking, Shuttle and Pet friendly. We travel around the world and have found a wonderful place to visit. Please spend at least a full day visiting the lounge and restaurant. It will take you back to a beautiful era. Not to be missed.

Room Tip: King room very spacious, comfortable and tough to leave
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

From the moment you enter the courtyard, and check in, it is apparent that this is a class act. The entryway is a courtyard, partially walled off from the street, and all properties (parking garage, parking lot, hotel itself) are all enclosed. Being a female, traveling solo, this was a definite safety feature.
Upon entering the hotel, the Art-deco decor is strikingly beautiful. I ended up taking at least a dozen photos with my cellphone to send to my daughter who has been involved with architecture and design for years.
No skimpy, cramped rooms here. My room had a king-sized bed that was bigger and more luxurious than my king-sized bed at home; the room was bigger than two of my bedrooms at home. Much more comfort than the usual chain hotels. No paper-thin walls either--very quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I love old hotels and prefer them over the typical cookie cutter chains. The Ambassador is a beauty! Wonderfully restored, the hotel holds all the glory of the architectural details of a time gone by. Take a moment to look at the old menus they have in the lobby! The prices will crack you up! Staff was very friendly and free parking /shuttle service are an added bonus! We love Milwaukee and will be back!

Room Tip: While not downtown, great free shuttle service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northlake, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have been going to the Ambassador Hotel for years and have not found a better hotel to stay in accross the country. The staff is wonderful and very very helpful, there is noting they will not do for you. I got sick on one of my stays and had to cancel my shuttle run. When I called and talked to Sam (the shuttle driver) he asked me what was wrong, told him I had gotten sick. Sam called Ryan at the front desk and told him. They knew I was traveling alone so Ryan came up to my room to check on me and make sure I was OK and even brought me a large hot cup of tea. How many hotels do you know that the staff will care that much for thier gues,. not many that I know about. So if your looking for a GREAT PLACE and GREAT SERVICE, believe me you cannot go wrong. They have always made me feel like I was home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#9 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#11 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality and exceptional service are a tradition at the Ambassador Hotel. The beautifully restored Ambassador Hotel preserves the original Art Deco style which has made it a Milwaukee landmark and we’ve added all of the luxuries you have come to expect from a modern hotel. Marble floors, elegant bronze elevator doors and Art Deco detailing are the backdrop for the sumptuous bedding, modern amenities, and our top-rated onsite restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.