We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay in milwaukee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay Longer & Save
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
newyork
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“stay in milwaukee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

we were greeted by very friendly staff. they go out of their way to help you. van service available free of charge to various point of attraction. Xavior was always very accomodating. check-in, check-out very quick. In general people in milwaukee rae very friendly and hospitable.

Room Tip: take higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed your experience at the Ambassador and Milwaukee! Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our staff and for mentioning the complimentary shuttle service we provide to our guests. The complimentary parking and shuttle service are very popular amenities. We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to Milwaukee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    246
    76
    41
    36
See reviews for
131
290
62
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The room was huge and very comfortable and we slept well. The front desk staff was great and the restaurant better than average. However, there were two of us in the room the whole weekend and we were only given one robe and one water glass, even after they cleaned the room. The bed wasn't made properly - it was obvious that they just pulled up the covers and straightened them out - the bottom sheet wasn't even tucked in. There were dirty glasses outside of many rooms all day one day. Vanity kits and washcloths were not replaced. There was also a very strange smell in the lobby - didn't affect us upstairs, but just made us wonder if they were having trouble with the sewage system in the lobby.

The hotel itself was beautiful and the staff very friendly - overall, if you don't care about the small stuff, a very nice stay, but just OK in the service dept.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

On June 6-7. I was visiting from the Chicago area, travelling with a friend who attended the Bead show at the convention center. The hotel is spectacular--and affordable! We love art deco and the building was so beautifully restored. Our room was gorgeous and clean,the amenities were perfect, the beds were incredibly comfortable, the staff friendly and professional, the restaurant was great and the free parking was very much appreciated. I spent lots of time walking (my step counter logged 22 miles in two days :>) and enjoying Milwaukee, a city that I find beautiful and fascinating. I also visited a friend who I hadn't seen in 40 years. These fun activities were really enhanced by having such a lovely and pleasant place to stay. I plan to return soon with my husband and we will definitely stay at the Ambassador.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We made use of the complimentary shuttle service and it was so convenient and the drivers were all so knowledgeable and friendly. What a great relief to park our car - for FREE - at the hotel and be done with the driving!

Our room was spacious and neat and clean and more than welcoming. A teen daughter who wanted to pop a bag of microwave popcorn was invited down to use the front desk microwave - both nights! When the toilet was stopped up, housekeeping was on the spot within 10 minutes to fix the problem.

While using the business center on Saturday evening, I had the opportunity to listen to Supervisor Ashley assist a disgruntled spa customer. Throughout the entire exchange, she was friendly, patient and conciliatory. She should be commended for her customer service skills and caring demeanor. In fact, everyone we interacted with during our Ambassador stay was helpful and eager to please.

Lastly, the Sunday Brunch at the Envoy? Zowie, what fun our entire family had exploring and enjoying the small plates! Mollie, your Floor Leader, was so friendly and personable and helpful. We absolutely loved her! Whenever we are in Milwaukee, we would definitely consider joining you for Sunday Brunch again!

Bottom line: Great deal. Great location. Very accomodating staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We discovered the Ambassador six years ago when our daughter entered Marquette University. We have continuously stayed at the Ambassador mainly for two reasons: location to Marquette and the excellent dining. The Hotel is pretty cool as well. With graduation, we will continue to stay at the Ambassador- we have fell in love with Milwaukee. On a side note, I tip my first Cow in the Envoy. Excellent beer! Ike (server in dining room) has been a great asset to us throughout the years. It will be different not to see him as often.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing east-looking downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We frequently travel to Milwaukee for overnight getaways. We've stayed at a variety of hotels and this was our first time at the Ambassador. We were able to get a very good rate of about $86 through Priceline.

First, the hotel is art deco style and the lobby is stunningly beautiful. All the designs and details will capture your eyes. The panel work on the elevator doors in the lobby are amazing. It's a shame this isn't carried throughout every floor of the hotel because the panel doors used on the guest floors are cheap and look like kitchen doors in a restaurant. One of the two elevators was having operational issues.

Desk staff is very warm & welcoming. Check in was quick & efficient.

This is an old hotel so there are multiple hallways on the upper floors which adds to the ambiance. The hotel did not smell musty as have other older hotels that we've stayed in.

We stayed in room #407. Upon opening the door, we were pleasantly surprised to find a small hallway into the room followed by a decorative archway. The room is more square in size than long and narrow so this made it feel more like a home's bedroom than a hotel room. Size of room was adequate. Bed was bouncy & not supportive. I dropped my cell phone on the floor near the bed & when I went to grab for it under the bed's dustcover, my hand found several pieces of Cheetos from a previous guest. I would have expected housecleaning to be more meticulous at an upscale hotel. The black out curtains are some of the best around. Closet space is small and the bathrobes hanging looked dingy and worn out.

Bathroom was very small and to warn you, the toilet seat is very small. I usually do not comment on the toilet seat however, you need to know that you will feel like you are sitting on a grade school sized toilet seat. This is done because the door has to clear the toilet which is located right up against the wall. The sink is a pedestal style so be warned, you will not be able to fit more than one or two toiletries on the bathroom sink. There is another sink area in the room which has adequate counter space. Bathroom amenities are Aveda but I've had better elsewhere. The shower is fair. The water pressure was okay and the shower head was blah. The shower curtain rod is bowed out like most hotels are these days but this isn't a very good one as the curtain kept coming back inside while showering. And ladies, pack your hair dryer because the Sunbeam one provided in the room is cheap & horrible. Barely any power and it dried & frizzed out my hair.

Flat panel tv is Samsung and fine. Mini bar in room. Standard desk & chair.

Neighborhood the hotel is located in is questionable. Parking onsite which includes a lot and garage. Didn't feel like anyone would mess with our car.

Shuttle service around town is provided. We were initially pleased as we had tickets to the Brewers baseball game & the shuttle would save us spending money on parking. It took us to the game with adequate amount of time to enjoy the pregame atmosphere. We were told the shuttle would pick us up at 10:50 p.m. We were in the parking lot at 10:45 p.m. however, the parking attendants told us the shuttle had already left a couple minutes prior. When we called the hotel they argued with my husband and basically lied to us about pick up & departure times from Miller Park. The parking attendants said that quite a few guests had been complaining about the Ambassador's shuttle service. Fortunately, another hotel's shuttle service saw what had happened to us and graciously dropped us off at the hotel. We were very disappointed to have been left at almost 11 p.m. at night at Miller Park wondering how we were going to get back to the hotel. So, I would say skip the shuttle service, it's UNRELIABLE.

We had breakfast in the lobby. For a small price, you can purchase a voucher for certain menu items. It was just the two of us and I wasn't impressed that the hostess wanted to seat us in a two seated table pushed up against a wall when the restaurant only had only one other party. I find this assumption that we should make do with a small table rude. Also, when we were seated in a four seated table, she rudely gathered up the extra utensils, glasses & napkins in front of us to put away. The waitress was very nice. The food was just okay.

All in all, this hote is okay to stay at. I wouldn't say do not stay here however, try to get a good rate through Priceline. Next time we are in Milwaukee, we will try another hotel. I wouldn't make this our go to hotel for future trips.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton WI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Decided to give Ambassador a try the night of April 28th when they offered a Groupon deal with breakfast and wine at arrival. I usually stay in the heart of the city but had a show at Eagles Ballroom, right across the street from Ambassador.

What a great place. Beautiful old world charm. The openness of the lobby, restaurant and bar area was inviting.Check in was a breeze even though the place was hopping with people there for a wedding. The room was large and provided everything you could need including USB port on the television and a vanity area outside the bathroom with coffee and tea service. Plenty of outlets which is something lacking in many older hotels.

The wine was waiting for us when we arrived in the room. Comfortable king bed and nice sitting area with a chair, couch and coffee table. The room temperature needed no adjustment the entire stay. It was quiet. Very quiet.

Breakfast was delicious and the service outstanding. I highly recommend the Ambassador.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#9 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#14 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shining example of true Art Deco style, the Ambassador Hotel provides an urban oasis near the heart of downtown Milwaukee. Discover a remarkable blend of modern amenities and 1920's Art Deco design. From the original marble floors and bronze elevator doors to the ornate plasterwork, every detail of the Ambassador Hotel is a testament to the bold beauty of Art Deco. Our spacious guest rooms share the same level of sophisticated decor. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, HD smart elevisions and complimentary Internet access. Savor sumptuous global American cuisine in an upscale yet casual atmosphere at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge. Chef Michael Long crafts globally inspired innovative dishes made using fresh, local ingredients. But first, work up an appetite with a visit to our well-equipped fitness center that features cardio equipment with individual TV screens. Ready to explore all that downtown Milwaukee has to offer? Our complimentary shuttle service provides front door, red carpet service. Host your next social gathering in our Art Deco designed Embassy Room or host a corporate meeting that takes advantage of state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment in our Attache' Room. The Ambassador Hotel offers a variety of intimate event venues that can comfortably accommodate 20 to 80 people. Perfectly located on the west side of downtown Milwaukee near the Marquette University campus, our stylish hotel offers the perfect base for exploring the best attractions in the city. Catch a ball at a Milwaukee Brewers baseball game under Miller Park's retractable dome, attend a show in the Milwaukee Theatre District, tour the Miller Brewery or explore the Harley-Davidson Museum. If you have any questions about area attractions or need assistance arranging tours, please don't hesitate to ask our Guest Experience Manager. Reserve a room at the Ambassador Hotel during your next visit to Milwaukee and experience legendary customer service in extraordinary Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.