We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Appleton WI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of the best in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Decided to give Ambassador a try the night of April 28th when they offered a Groupon deal with breakfast and wine at arrival. I usually stay in the heart of the city but had a show at Eagles Ballroom, right across the street from Ambassador.

What a great place. Beautiful old world charm. The openness of the lobby, restaurant and bar area was inviting.Check in was a breeze even though the place was hopping with people there for a wedding. The room was large and provided everything you could need including USB port on the television and a vanity area outside the bathroom with coffee and tea service. Plenty of outlets which is something lacking in many older hotels.

The wine was waiting for us when we arrived in the room. Comfortable king bed and nice sitting area with a chair, couch and coffee table. The room temperature needed no adjustment the entire stay. It was quiet. Very quiet.

Breakfast was delicious and the service outstanding. I highly recommend the Ambassador.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    231
    65
    39
    36
See reviews for
111
269
60
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed the 9th and 10th of May. Friendly and helpful staff. The room was outstanding and everything in this newly redone Art Deco Hotel was well done. The shuttle service to all of the tourist sites and restaurants is easy to uses and very helpful in selecting good restaurants and sites to see in Milwaukee.

Room Tip: None really but I am sure the friendly staff would take care of you if the room was not satisfactory...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located on Wisconsin street, not far from the heart of the city but just far enough to have some peace and quiet. The hotel has this almost mid-20th century aura about it with a beautiful lobby, elevators with decorated doors and jazz music playing both in- and outside. If the intent was to create something that sets this hotel apart from the drab - it was succesfull!

The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. The bed was excellent, especially for a jetlagged traveller like myself. Staff was very helpful and friendly without being submissive, I hate it when that happens.

I had breakfast on a daily basis and although the choice is somewhat limited, at least for a European like myself, the presentation and taste was exactly right. Dinner too was very nice, I would even eat out here as a non-hotel guest I suppose with some inventive dishes, expertly prepared and served just the right way and with the right timing. If any complaint must be made, it would be the volume of the jazz music in the restaurant - a bit less would be nice.

My only complaint is that although our company rates indicated breakfast was included, it turned out we had to get vouchers at the front desk and nobody told us. It was by accident I found out and used the vouchers for the last 3 days but at checkout, no attempt was made to remove the 3 breakfasts at the beginning of the week from the bill.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
483 reviews 483 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
438 helpful votes 438 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The Ambassador Hotel in Milwaukee is an ideal spot for a stay in the City of Festivals. The architecture of the hotel is impressive and stunning. The warm lighting from beautiful chandeliers, really set the hotel up to a positive beginning. The classy entranceway is only enhanced by professional and courteous staff. Their friendly demeanor and willingness to answer questions made it very enjoyable. Close to downtown and Miller Park, the Ambassador, once again makes a mark by providing shuttle service to Brewers games and the Water street district downtown on weekends. Very impressed! The quality of the rooms were great! Spacious and classy decor throughout, the rooms provided a great comfortable sleep. I also enjoyed the retro feeling of the elevators, having to open the single door to get the elevator to open was really neat. Located within walking distance to the Pabst mansion, also, makes the location of the Ambassador ideal. I had a groupon for my stay, which made the value of the hotel really spectacular. I would recommend the Ambassador to people without hesitation. In fact, I would recommend people to go out of their way to experience the Ambassador. That's how good the hotel is, and also how good Milwaukee is!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel...art deco with a great old fashion elevator that you have to close the door to before you can advance to your flor. Nice lounge. Nice restaurant...good food...a bit pricey. Free shuttle service to any place in Marquette University and the 3rd Ward.

Room Tip: The two queen bed rooms were very large with a bqthroom and another sink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I just spent the past weekend at this hotel. It is a very clean, art deco, older hotel, in excellent condition.
We had the Master Delux room and it was HUGE. I did check out Trip Advisor ;) first, and followed previous recommendations! I called to request a corner room, since it was mentioned that these were bigger, and also a room near the top for a lake view (that worked out great, though Lake Michigan is still a ways away), and also to mention a room facing East or South. Our room was #703, and it was huge, quiet with a faroff view of the lake. The couple we went with had the hot tub room (my opinion not worth the extra $$$, though we both had a Groupon, which was fanastic), but no view of the lake.
I did not think the hotel was in as bad an area as others made it out to be. Yes, it's probably 10-12 blocks west of the downtown, but on the same road, just straight west. the building and area are still very well kept up, and did not look dangerous, etc, during the day. At night, because of some of the other reviews, I probably wouldn't walk around by the hotel, but it is very well lit, and still not that intimidating. The breakfast was very good, we had the crab cakes egg benedict, and the bar/lounge was very trendy. The couple we went with had been stayed there last year, and couldn't wait to go back. These old gems are a dying breed, and we were very glad they picked this hotel to take us along to. I would have given it the 5 stars, if it were closer to the lake, but otherwise, close to Potawatamie Casino and a 5 minute drive to all shopping, restaurants, highway, etc.

Room Tip: South or east
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

First of all, the best part of this stay was the free shuttle! We parked our car and didn't use it for three days. We went to the Third Ward for a night of electric blues at the Milwaukee Ale House, a day trip to the Milwaukee Art Museum and another night trip to a local coffee house to hear an African group. If you need to do anything on the Marquette University campus, the hotel is right in the neighborhood. The hotel may seem a long way from the central part of downtown, but with the shuttle service, it doesn't matter. They drop you off at the door in the day time or evening of where you want to go and then you call for a pick up (make sure it is before 11:30 p.m.) Santiago was a particularly nice driver and fun to talk with!

The hotel is not quite a posh as you might expect for the regular price, but I found it to be clean and pleasant. We had what appeared to be a handicapped room, so we had an enormous bathroom. The bed was good and so were the towels. Nice big flat screen TV too.

The restaurant, the Envoy, served a nice selection of the expected and the not so usual. We had good service and I liked the cozy feeling.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality and exceptional service are a tradition at the Ambassador Hotel. The beautifully restored Ambassador Hotel preserves the original Art Deco style which has made it a Milwaukee landmark and we’ve added all of the luxuries you have come to expect from a modern hotel. Marble floors, elegant bronze elevator doors and Art Deco detailing are the backdrop for the sumptuous bedding, modern amenities, and our top-rated onsite restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.